The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 09:48am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with your answer.
Thanks.

I think I've had this play once, or twice, in forty years.

I honestly don't remember if I got it (ball still in the upside down net, or completely through) right, or not, but I will definitely get it right the next time it happens (if it happens again).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 31, 2021 at 09:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
An augment can definitely be made that this is a violation. Notice that the definition of the basket specifies that the net must be suspended from beneath the ring. That is the proper position for the net on a legal basket.
Since the ball has now passed completely through the space in which the net is specified to be on a legal basket and through the ring, it can be considered to have passed through a legal basket. It does not need to pass through the net as it is stretched above the level of the ring because that is not its legal position.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An augment can definitely be made that this is a violation. Notice that the definition of the basket specifies that the net must be suspended from beneath the ring. That is the proper position for the net on a legal basket.
Since the ball has now passed completely through the space in which the net is specified to be on a legal basket and through the ring, it can be considered to have passed through a legal basket. It does not need to pass through the net as it is stretched above the level of the ring because that is not its legal position.
If that is the case, the basket is illegal most almost every shot as it often flips partially up as the ball is going in and through....the point being, I'm not sure it is relevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 07:32am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
If the original situation is not a violation, then you have to score a goal. It's a live ball that has entered or remained in the basket from above. 2 points.

In other words, it's a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 08:53am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
Cut And Dry ...

Nevadaref, Camron Rust, and Scrapper1. Thanks for your recent posts that tell me that this question was not as "cut and dry" as it appeared to be, the reason for my original post to confirm my answer.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
If the original situation is not a violation, then you have to score a goal. It's a live ball that has entered or remained in the basket from above. 2 points.
I don't know the answer for the OP, but this logic is definitely incorrect.

The ball entered the basket from below. It went above the ring, but remained in the basket (still in the net) until it fell back through the bottom. It never entered the basket from above.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
I don't know the answer for the OP, but this logic is definitely incorrect.

The ball entered the basket from below. It went above the ring, but remained in the basket (still in the net) until it fell back through the bottom. It never entered the basket from above.
Even if we do consider the ball to have entered the basket from above after rising above the level of the ring, it does not pass through the net or remain within it as required by rule for a goal to be scored.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 01:18pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Even if we do consider the ball to have entered the basket from above after rising above the level of the ring, it does not pass through the net or remain within it as required by rule for a goal to be scored.
What?? Of course it does. When it comes back down, passes through the ring and out of the bottom of the net.

I guess I can see the point about not entering the basket from above (since it's already in the net when it gets above the ring), but it obviously passes through the ring and net on the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
If the original situation is not a violation, then you have to score a goal. It's a live ball that has entered or remained in the basket from above. 2 points.

In other words, it's a violation.
No, it didn't enter the basket from above...it entered it from below. If it had exited the basket and then dropped by down into the basket, you would have a point, but that isn't what was described in the OP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2021, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, it didn't enter the basket from above...it entered it from below. If it had exited the basket and then dropped by down into the basket, you would have a point, but that isn't what was described in the OP.
And if it exited the basket above the ring and then dropped back down through, the entire OP is moot since then it's clearly a violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mechanics Exam Question (USA) youngump Softball 3 Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:14am
FIBA EXAM Question SmokeEater Basketball 9 Sat Dec 19, 2009 05:02am
Exam question: Please help I'm stumped. Bchill24 Basketball 4 Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:25pm
Exam #1 question zac Basketball 14 Thu Oct 03, 2002 03:00am
Question 101 on NF exam Tim Roden Basketball 4 Wed Nov 08, 2000 11:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1