The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 01:14pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
...

However, even if Blue #10 was still airborne, my opinion is that White #1 obtained and maintained legal guarding position before Blue #10 became airborne, so to me, it doesn't matter if Blue #10 was still airborne at contact....
So a defender can move any way he wants to AFTER A1 becomes airborne as long as he was legal BEFORE A1 became airborne?

But again, the judgment part of this play is a mouse compared to the elephant of poor mechanics.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 01:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Maintained ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... my opinion is that White #1 obtained and maintained legal guarding position before Blue #10 became airborne ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
So a defender can move any way he wants to after A1 becomes airborne as long as he was legal before A1 became airborne?
Great point, that I believed that I had already answered, but without specifics. By maintaining legal guard position I meant that the defender didn't move toward the airborne ball handler.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
... the judgment part of this play is a mouse compared to the elephant of poor mechanics.
I appreciate your comments regarding the mechanics of the play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I do know that was terrible court coverage. Lead needed to pinch the paint and rotate. Center takes himself out of the play
With only two real three person games in forty years under my black belt, I wasn't about to offer an opinion on the mechanics as requested by IAABO.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Apr 30, 2021 at 01:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 01:49pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Great point, that I believed that I had already answered, but without specifics. By maintaining legal guard position I meant that the defender didn't move toward the airborne ball handler.

....

Words matter
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 02:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Words Do Matter ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Words matter
Agree. Yes they do. I thought that "obtained and maintained" covered it.

While not incorrect, it was, perhaps, too general a statement, one that needed further explanation, and I was happy to oblige for the greater good of the cause.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Apr 30, 2021 at 02:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 03:16pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree. Yes they do. I thought that "obtained and maintained" covered it.

While not incorrect, it was, perhaps, too general a statement, one that needed further explanation, and I was happy to oblige for the greater good of the cause.
You used "obtained and maintained" specifically in regards to what happened before A1 went airborne and then used words like "it doesn't matter" in regards to what happens before the contact.


"However, even if Blue #10 was still airborne, my opinion is that White #1 obtained and maintained legal guarding position before Blue #10 became airborne, so to me, it doesn't matter if Blue #10 was still airborne at contact...."

Me, if I'm training someone, I say defender "obtained" LGP BEFORE A1 went airborne and MAINTAINED LGP while A1 was airborne and until contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Apr 30, 2021 at 03:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 03:48pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
Correction/Clarification ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I say defender "obtained" LGP before A1 went airborne and maintained LGP while A1 was airborne and until contact.
And you would be saying it correctly.

My initial answer was unclear.

While I knew what I meant, I didn't write what I meant.

Haste makes waste.

Thanks for the correction/clarification, for me, and for the greater good of the Forum cause.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Apr 30, 2021 at 04:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2021, 09:50am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,500
IAABO Survey Says …

Disclaimer: Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...O0M%2F5w%3D%3D

IAABO Play Commentary

Correct Answer: This is a Charge.

Blue #10 drives into the lane and jumps to pass the ball to a teammate in the lane. The defender obtains a legal guarding position (2 feet on the floor, facing the opponent) before Blue #10 became airborne. (4-23-5d) Since the defender obtained a legal guarding position, Blue #10 is responsible for the contact. In NFHS rules, this would be a team control foul. (4-19-7)

A high percentage of respondents ruled this play to be a player control foul. A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. (4-19-6) Even though the administration of the penalties is the same as the team control foul, it is not accurate to refer to this as a player control foul. Blue #10 no longer had control of the ball once he released the ball on the pass. (4-12-1, 4-12-2b) Had Blue #10 released the ball on a try for goal instead of a pass and then charged, a player control foul would have been committed by rule.


Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a Charge 41% (including me). This is Player Control foul 39%. This is incidental contact (NCC - No Call Correct) 13%. This is a Blocking foul 5%. This is a Flop 2%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue May 04, 2021 at 10:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2021, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
So a defender can move any way he wants to AFTER A1 becomes airborne as long as he was legal BEFORE A1 became airborne?

But again, the judgment part of this play is a mouse compared to the elephant of poor mechanics.
Not any way, but several ways.

Nothing in the rules says that the defender has to be stationary, even for an airborne opponent. The rules only require that the defender be in the path. If the defender was in the path when A1 became airborne, any subsequent lateral movement or movement backwards doesn't change that. That is just a position adjustment.

There is no change in the ruling if the defender moves from a position that would have lead to contact 3" left of the center of his/her torso to a position with contact 3" right of the center of his/her torso. If the defender was in position to take the charge before the opponent jump, small movements don't usually change that.

The defender can't, however, move toward the opponent into contact as that negates LGP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass and Crash Gutierrez7 Basketball 20 Tue Dec 29, 2015 04:47am
Pass/Crash dacodee Basketball 7 Wed Dec 03, 2008 06:07pm
Pass / Crash bseybs32 Basketball 6 Fri Dec 17, 2004 08:01pm
Pass and Crash Buckley11 Basketball 3 Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:39pm
pass/crash Troward Basketball 3 Wed Jan 08, 2003 05:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1