The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 519
False double or simultaneous technical foul

B1 fouls A1 (non-shooting) B1 disrespects calling official and is given a technical foul. A3 steps toward B1 and taunts by clapping hands near B1's face and is also given a T. Should these technicals be treated as a false double or simultaneous?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,372
In HS I would treat all these as separate fouls and administer in the order that they occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,860
NCAA-M I'm treating these separately, as well. But since no dead ball contact is involved we would administer both T's first and then resume at the POI.

A gets two FTs for B1's T
B gets two FTs for A3's T
Resume play at POI, a throw-in for Team A.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 11:50am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Order In The Court ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In HS I would treat all these as separate fouls and administer in the order that they occurred.
Agree.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals
12. Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which they occur.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 12:00pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Administered In The Order In Which They Occur ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
B1 fouls A1 (non-shooting) B1 disrespects calling official and is given a technical foul. A3 steps toward B1 and taunts by clapping hands near B1's face and is also given a T.
In my high school game: Interpreting "B1 fouls A1 (non-shooting)" to mean that A1 is not in the act of shooting a field goal try:
1) A1 either doesn't shoot free throws, or shoots one and one, or shoots two free throws (depending on bonus situation), no rebounders if shooting free throws.
2) Any eligible Team A player shoots two free throws, no rebounders.
3) Any eligible Team B player shoots two free throws, no rebounders.
4) Team B gets throwin at division line opposite the table.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 14, 2021 at 04:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 01:13pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,387
A false double foul is separate events. You do not call them but they just happen and have their own penalty. They are not simultaneous in nature either.

The B1 foul of A1 and the A3 taunting B1 is really the only false double foul. The technical foul by B1 commenting to the officials is a separate event.

As stated all would have a separate penalty, but you never actually "call" a false foul, they happen by rule and just are made clear that one takes place and how to handle them. True double fouls go to the POI, not false fouls.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 01:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
For The Good Of The Cause ...

4-19: ART. 9 A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

ART. 10 A simultaneous foul (personal or technical) by opponents is a situation in which there is a foul by both teams which occurs at approximately the same time, but are not committed by opponents against each other.

ART. 8 Double fouls:
a. A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.
b. A double technical foul is a situation in which two opponents commit technical fouls against each other at approximately the same time.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 14, 2021 at 02:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
NCAA-M I'm treating these separately, as well. But since no dead ball contact is involved we would administer both T's first and then resume at the POI.

A gets two FTs for B1's T
B gets two FTs for A3's T
Resume play at POI, a throw-in for Team A.
NCAAW -- the dead ball fouls offset and we resume with A1 shooting FTs or having the ball for a throw-in (depending on bonus).

So, same situation, 3 different outcomes (and FIBA folksm or NBA folks) can weigh in for more.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,600
False double or simultaneous technical foul

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The B1 foul of A1 and the A3 taunting B1 is really the only false double foul. The technical foul by B1 commenting to the officials is a separate event.
So it really starts as a false multiple foul which is then augmented into a false triple-decker foul (with a side of mayo) when A3 brain farts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2021, 10:34pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
So it really starts as a false multiple foul which is then augmented into a false triple-decker foul (with a side of mayo) when A3 brain farts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You are actually right. And all the "false" means is they is a separation between the fouls application and they carry their own penalty. I was not thinking false multiple, but also trying to stay away from multiple fouls.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simultaneous or false double foul Rob1968 Basketball 21 Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:59pm
False Double vs Simultaneous Scratch85 Basketball 12 Thu Jan 28, 2010 09:29am
False Double Technical Foul Mark Dexter Basketball 9 Wed Mar 10, 2004 05:56pm
False Multiple Foul/ False Double/etc.??? sleebo Basketball 10 Tue Jan 06, 2004 02:21am
False Double Simultaneous Multiple Player-Control Foul rainmaker Basketball 11 Mon Dec 10, 2001 09:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1