The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 12, 2020, 05:52pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 689
BI on TI

Today's Referee.com case play: BI on a TI, 2 points awarded.

On a TI, A1 throws the ball, which bounces off the rim, and while the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, B1 touches the ball and knocks it away. Ruling: BI and 2 points, because BI does not require a try or tap.

Goaltending does require a try or tap, so if B1 touches the ball before it hits the rim, it's not goaltending because the throw is not a try or a tap.

BI on a throw that, if it went in, would be a violation by the throwing team? If I had this happen in a game, I would have gotten it wrong.

Query: If BI occurs on a TI from beyond the 3-point line, do you award 3 points? Or is this throw considered not "from the field by a player behind" his/her arc?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 12, 2020, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Today's Referee.com case play: BI on a TI, 2 points awarded.

On a TI, A1 throws the ball, which bounces off the rim, and while the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, B1 touches the ball and knocks it away. Ruling: BI and 2 points, because BI does not require a try or tap.

Goaltending does require a try or tap, so if B1 touches the ball before it hits the rim, it's not goaltending because the throw is not a try or a tap.

BI on a throw that, if it went in, would be a violation by the throwing team? If I had this happen in a game, I would have gotten it wrong.

Query: If BI occurs on a TI from beyond the 3-point line, do you award 3 points? Or is this throw considered not "from the field by a player behind" his/her arc?
OOB is not behind the 3-point line. It is OOB.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
BI on a throw that, if it went in, would be a violation by the throwing team? If I had this happen in a game, I would have gotten it wrong.
Correct me if Iím wrong, but the BI causes the ball to become dead immediately, so whether the ball then goes in or not is immaterial. Award 2 points if violation by defense, then resume play with a TI (spot or anywhere along the EL dependent).

In 11 years, only got close to this once, on a botched alley-oop, of course.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 09:59am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 689
crosscountry55: What I meant was if there had been no BI and the TI went in, that would be a TI violation.

It seems incongruous to award points on a TI-BI where the TI itself could not result in a basket, but Referee.com says yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 11:42am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
crosscountry55: What I meant was if there had been no BI and the TI went in, that would be a TI violation.

It seems incongruous to award points on a TI-BI where the TI itself could not result in a basket, but Referee.com says yes.
I do not have access to my Casebook but there is at least one NFHS Casebook Play and at least one NCAA Men's and Women's Casebook Play/Approved Ruling addressing this Play. It is BI, per rule, because the Ball is Live during a Throw-in and BI only pertains to a Live Ball that is in the Cylinder and how the Ball came to be in the Cylinder has no bearing on the Play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
crosscountry55: What I meant was if there had been no BI and the TI went in, that would be a TI violation.

It seems incongruous to award points on a TI-BI where the TI itself could not result in a basket, but Referee.com says yes.
It is logical because, without it, the throwing team could "shoot the ball" and then slightly touch the ball just before it goes in to end the throwin and make it a legal basket, being more or indefensible. Having BI prevents that. To keep it simple, the same rule applies the defense.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1