Thread: BI on TI
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 12:16pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
crosscountry55: What I meant was if there had been no BI and the TI went in, that would be a TI violation.

It seems incongruous to award points on a TI-BI where the TI itself could not result in a basket, but Referee.com says yes.
It is logical because, without it, the throwing team could "shoot the ball" and then slightly touch the ball just before it goes in to end the throwin and make it a legal basket, being more or indefensible. Having BI prevents that. To keep it simple, the same rule applies the defense.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote