Thread: BI on TI
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 13, 2020, 11:42am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
crosscountry55: What I meant was if there had been no BI and the TI went in, that would be a TI violation.

It seems incongruous to award points on a TI-BI where the TI itself could not result in a basket, but Referee.com says yes.
I do not have access to my Casebook but there is at least one NFHS Casebook Play and at least one NCAA Men's and Women's Casebook Play/Approved Ruling addressing this Play. It is BI, per rule, because the Ball is Live during a Throw-in and BI only pertains to a Live Ball that is in the Cylinder and how the Ball came to be in the Cylinder has no bearing on the Play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote