The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 730
Ball does not pass thru net

I know this has been discussed but I can not find the post(s)
(a) Ball passes thru basket, gets caught in the net and pops out.
(b) Ball passes thru basket, hits player head and pops out
(c) ball passes basket and gets lodged in net
Are the rulings different NFHS, NCAAW and NCAAM
I am not talking about the James Harden dunk. That ball passes thru the net
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlAkIarPbzI
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,911
Your statements are contradictory. It can't pass through the basket (which is the rim and net combined) and get stuck in the net. Perhaps you meant "enters the basket".

Assuming so....

(a) no goal, play on
(b) basket interference, count/cancel depending on offense/defense
(c) goal is scored
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Not saying that you are incorrect however I have seen a handful of situations like play b and not one was called BI. They were all simply play on.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Not saying that you are incorrect however I have seen a handful of situations like play b and not one was called BI. They were all simply play on.
All of those officials missed the call. Camron is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Is there a specific case play or rule with wording describing this? There are descriptions of hands being allowed to do that in the act of dunking. Heads aren't?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2020, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Is there a specific case play or rule with wording describing this? There are descriptions of hands being allowed to do that in the act of dunking. Heads aren't?
Hands are allowed to be in contact with the ball during a dunk, prior to the ball’s release, in the imaginary cylinder above the basket, not contact the ball while it is within the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 05, 2020, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Hands are allowed to be in contact with the ball during a dunk, prior to the ball’s release, in the imaginary cylinder above the basket, not contact the ball while it is within the basket.
Hmm, I have seen plenty of dunks whereby the dunker makes contact with the ball with their arms while the ball is in the net. Player dunks, releases the ball, has a hold of the rim, and in following through, there is body/arm contact with the ball as it is passing through the net. Never seen BI called. I think this is one of the rules that is simply never called. Maybe someone has video of it being called that they can share.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2020, 11:08am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,461
Contact With The Ball Continues ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Hmm, I have seen plenty of dunks whereby the dunker makes contact with the ball with their arms while the ball is in the net. Player dunks, releases the ball, has a hold of the rim, and in following through, there is body/arm contact with the ball as it is passing through the net.
4-6 Exception: ... if a player has his/her hand legally in
contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact
(touches the ball) with the ball
continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if in such action, the
player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket
interference.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2020, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-6 Exception: ... if a player has his/her hand legally in
contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact
(touches the ball) with the ball
continues after it enters the imaginary cylinder or if in such action, the
player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket
interference.
Exactly, I knew that which is why I do not understand the idea of BI when it hits a dunker's head. Are they saying that touching is only allowed by the hands and no other body part?

If yes, then why isn't BI called more often when the dunker makes contact, with the arms or other body part, with the ball while it is in the net?

If no, then why is BI suggested (Cameron/Nevada) when it hits the dunker's head as the ball is in the net?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Fri Mar 06, 2020 at 10:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2020, 05:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,461
Purpose And Intent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
If yes, then why isn't BI called more often when the dunker makes contact, with the arms or other body part, with the ball while it is in the net? If no, then why is BI suggested (Cameron/Nevada) it hits the dunker's head as the ball is in the net?
May I suggest purpose and intent and the difference between defensive basket interference and offensive basket interference, and the advantage/disadvantage of such actions that "help" the ball go into and through the basket, or to not go into and through the basket?

That's the best I got. Maybe others can offer more?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2020, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
May I suggest purpose and intent and the difference between defensive basket interference and offensive basket interference, and the advantage/disadvantage of such actions that "help" the ball go into and through the basket, or to not go into and through the basket?

That's the best I got. Maybe others can offer more?
I considered some of that however the ball hitting the head and the ball going up and out of the basket does not help the offense. There is no advantage there for the offense. It is the opposite and completely unintentional and negates a basket.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 06, 2020, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Exactly, I knew that which is why I do not understand the idea of BI when it hits a dunker's head. Are they saying that touching is only allowed by the hands and no other body part?

If yes, then why isn't BI called more often when the dunker makes contact, with the arms or other body part, with the ball while it is in the net?

If no, then why is BI suggested (Cameron/Nevada) when it hits the dunker's head as the ball is in the net?
What does the text of the rule say?

4-6-1: “Basket interference occurs when a player:...Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.”

Does the action you describe meet the conditions of this rule?

All you have to do is read the plain language of the rule and apply it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 07, 2020, 12:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
What does the text of the rule say?

4-6-1: “Basket interference occurs when a player:...Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.”

Does the action you describe meet the conditions of this rule?

All you have to do is read the plain language of the rule and apply it.
I presume that you are teasing. I have already given examples where BI was not called. Also, nobody calls all the rules as they are written so it is not that simple. You know that too.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 07, 2020, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I presume that you are teasing. I have already given examples where BI was not called. Also, nobody calls all the rules as they are written so it is not that simple. You know that too.
Nope, 100% serious.

NFHS BASKETBALL
2010-11 POINTS OF EMPHASIS

1. RULES ENFORCEMENT. There appears to be continued movement away from consistent enforcement of NFHS playing rules. Personal interpretations of the rules by individual officials have a negative impact on the game. The rules are written to provide a balance between offense and defense, minimize risk to participants, promote the sound tradition of the game and promote fair play. Individual philosophies and deviations from the rules as they are written and interpreted by the NFHS, negatively impact the basic tenets and fundamentals of the game. Illegal tactics that are permitted – are promoted. When officials allow players to use illegal tactics without penalty, the behavior is condoned and consequently encouraged. When officials consistently enforce the playing rules as intended, players and coaches are able to make the proper adjustments – promoting skill development and a level playing field.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 07, 2020, 05:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I considered some of that however the ball hitting the head and the ball going up and out of the basket does not help the offense. There is no advantage there for the offense. It is the opposite and completely unintentional and negates a basket.
True, but to keep it simple, it is defined as BI for all. No need to complicated infrequently needed rules to deal with an even less likely play.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B1 deflect a A1 pass, ball go backcourt mendi Basketball 19 Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22pm
Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... JasonWilliam Baseball 14 Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm
TO granted while ball in air during pass? dkmz17 Basketball 14 Fri Feb 09, 2007 09:10pm
Where to bounce pass the ball.... RookieDude Basketball 29 Tue Dec 17, 2002 08:21am
Pass Interferrance - Ball Caught mikesears Football 3 Thu Sep 07, 2000 01:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1