The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2000, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Question

If there is Defensive pass interferance and the offensive player catches the ball, where is the enforcement spot for the penalty? 15 yards from the previous spot or the spot of the interferance?

Had this happen in a rec league I officiate in and want to know the proper application of the rule. Don't have a rulebook or casebook handy but can look it up later if you have rule or case #.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2000, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Post

quote:
Originally posted by mikesears:
If there is Defensive pass interferance and the offensive player catches the ball, where is the enforcement spot for the penalty? 15 yards from the previous spot or the spot of the interferance?

Had this happen in a rec league I officiate in and want to know the proper application of the rule. Don't have a rulebook or casebook handy but can look it up later if you have rule or case #.



What rule book does the league use?
Bob

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2000, 01:14pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,501
Post

Unless you have some special rules, in NF the penalty would always be 15 yards no matter what if they accepted the penalty. If the catch was further than that, they probably would decline the penalty. In college it is a spot foul if shorter than 15 yards or 15 yards if the penalty was further than 15 yards of the line of scrimmage. And in both rule books they are automatic first downs too. Hope that helps.

quote:
Originally posted by mikesears:
If there is Defensive pass interferance and the offensive player catches the ball, where is the enforcement spot for the penalty? 15 yards from the previous spot or the spot of the interferance?

Had this happen in a rec league I officiate in and want to know the proper application of the rule. Don't have a rulebook or casebook handy but can look it up later if you have rule or case #.



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2000, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 5
Post

Assuming you are using NF football rules the DPI would be penalized from the previous spot. DPI, by it's very definition, is a foul that occurs during a loose ball play. All defensive fouls that occur during a loose ball play are penalized from the previous spot.

Team A would have the choice of taking the results of the play OR taking a 15 yard penalty from the previous spot and an automatic first down.

In this situation the yardage penalty cannot be "tacked on" to the end of A's run.



------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1