The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 957
Another throw in sit

Play;

A1 has spot throw-in in A's front court. Ball is thrown and bounces deep in A's backcourt. Ball bounces high as A2 and B2 both try for it. Neither touches the ball as they both find themselves OOB on the end line. The ball then comes down and touches A2 standing OOB.

Where does the next throw in by B take place?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:04pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 666
If it was never touched inbounds, go back to original throw in spot
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:12pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Play;

A1 has spot throw-in in A's front court. Ball is thrown and bounces deep in A's backcourt. Ball bounces high as A2 and B2 both try for it. Neither touches the ball as they both find themselves OOB on the end line. The ball then comes down and touches A2 standing OOB. Where does the next throw in by B take place?
Is this 2007,08 NFHS Interpretation relevant?
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Play;

A1 has spot throw-in in A's front court. Ball is thrown and bounces deep in A's backcourt. Ball bounces high as A2 and B2 both try for it. Neither touches the ball as they both find themselves OOB on the end line. The ball then comes down and touches A2 standing OOB.

Where does the next throw in by B take place?
At the spot where A2 caused the ball to be out of bounds.

The interp above is a great citation. Also check 7-1-2a 1, 7-2-1 and 2, 4-42-5b

Last edited by billyu2; Sun Feb 03, 2019 at 05:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,379
Garden Variety ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
At the spot where A2 caused the ball to be out of bounds.
Agree. It's not a throwin violation, it's a garden variety out of bounds violation.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
If it was never touched inbounds, go back to original throw in spot
That was FED's i(incorrect) interp about 15 years ago. Thankfully, they corrected it within a year or two after issuing it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 957
Thank you all for the relevant info!

Follow up question...

In the rule posted by Freddy, doesn't the wording seem confusing regarding the AP arrow being changed?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 07:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,379
Ancient History ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That was FED's i(incorrect) interp about 15 years ago. Thankfully, they corrected it within a year or two after issuing it.
An ancient interpretation that this was a throwin violation because the inbounder did not pass the ball directly to a player on the court. This interpretation is now as dead as an Egyptian mummy. No need to call Lara Croft.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Thank you all for the relevant info!

Follow up question...

In the rule posted by Freddy, doesn't the wording seem confusing regarding the AP arrow being changed?
I don't think so -- but you are not the only one to ask the quesiton, so it might be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 692
7-6-2

ART. 2

The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in begins. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.
Sorry, no case play
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:52am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That was FED's i(incorrect) interp about 15 years ago. Thankfully, they corrected it within a year or two after issuing it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
An ancient interpretation that this was a throwin violation because the inbounder did not pass the ball directly to a player on the court. This interpretation is now as dead as an Egyptian mummy. No need to call Lara Croft.


Actually, the current Rule is the Ancient Rule. The "Ancient Rule" to which Billy refers was the Rule between the Rule as it is now which was also the Ancient Rule before the "Ancient Rule".

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't think so -- but you are not the only one to ask the quesiton, so it might be.
I agree, I don't see anything confusing. They are making it clear that the AP throw in ended and to switch the arrow.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I agree, I don't see anything confusing. They are making it clear that the AP throw in ended and to switch the arrow.
After re-reading it I agree. Just seemed like it could’ve been written a little better. I may be dyslexic.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw HawkeyeCubP Basketball 1 Mon Nov 14, 2016 06:53pm
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1