The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 614
It's 3 points

This has been an ongoing dispute, since the NFHS rule speaks only to a ball from being thrown from beyond the 3-point arc. As Billy cites, casebook plays in 5.2.1 are unequivocal that a ball touched by another offensive player outside the 3-point arc or by the defense inside or outside the arc are counted as 3 points if the ball enters the basket. There is no rules requirement that the throw be judged a try or that there was any attempt at a try (as in a pass that deflects off another player.)

This year's IAABO refresher exam had a question on this -- and the answer was that it does count as 3 points. The original answer key said 2 points, but that was changed after a closer look at the case book plays and after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor.

IAABO Refresher Exam Q. 35
A-1 is behind the 3-point line near the top of the free throw semi-circle. A-1 attempts a diagonal pass to a teammate in the corner. B-1 deflects the pass which enters the basket. The official awards Team A three points. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes 5.2.1, Case Book 5.2.1 Situation C(b)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 03:28pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Which exactly why I was referring to the other two citations.



The other two citations make no mention of toward the basket.

I agree with Camron Rust that the question here is in the intent of the rule when it was changed. We disagree on that aspect.
In Camron's citation, the try has ended because it is short and below the level of the ring. In your citation there is no try, just balls thrown from outside the 3-point arc. I see a difference in the plays, thus a difference in the rulings.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
This has been an ongoing dispute, since the NFHS rule speaks only to a ball from being thrown from beyond the 3-point arc. As Billy cites, casebook plays in 5.2.1 are unequivocal that a ball touched by another offensive player outside the 3-point arc or by the defense inside or outside the arc are counted as 3 points if the ball enters the basket. There is no rules requirement that the throw be judged a try or that there was any attempt at a try (as in a pass that deflects off another player.)

This year's IAABO refresher exam had a question on this -- and the answer was that it does count as 3 points. The original answer key said 2 points, but that was changed after a closer look at the case book plays and after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor.

IAABO Refresher Exam Q. 35
A-1 is behind the 3-point line near the top of the free throw semi-circle. A-1 attempts a diagonal pass to a teammate in the corner. B-1 deflects the pass which enters the basket. The official awards Team A three points. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes 5.2.1, Case Book 5.2.1 Situation C(b)
Silly IAABO, wrong again.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Silly IAABO, wrong again.
What part of "after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor" was unclear?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
What part of "after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor" was unclear?
Nothing...it is still wrong.

All you have to do is rule all thrown balls as a try and then you get to the citation I made where it is 2 points. Case closed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
This has been an ongoing dispute, since the NFHS rule speaks only to a ball from being thrown from beyond the 3-point arc. As Billy cites, casebook plays in 5.2.1 are unequivocal that a ball touched by another offensive player outside the 3-point arc or by the defense inside or outside the arc are counted as 3 points if the ball enters the basket. There is no rules requirement that the throw be judged a try or that there was any attempt at a try (as in a pass that deflects off another player.)

This year's IAABO refresher exam had a question on this -- and the answer was that it does count as 3 points. The original answer key said 2 points, but that was changed after a closer look at the case book plays and after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor.

IAABO Refresher Exam Q. 35
A-1 is behind the 3-point line near the top of the free throw semi-circle. A-1 attempts a diagonal pass to a teammate in the corner. B-1 deflects the pass which enters the basket. The official awards Team A three points. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes 5.2.1, Case Book 5.2.1 Situation C(b)
Probably wonít get far citing editors. These case plays are not consistent.. If you only look at second one(any thrown ball touched by D inside arc counts 3) then thereís no reason for first one.(below rim level touch by D is 2 points). They are both in case book. We have to try to make them both work...How? If it could possible be..any way shape or form a try then give them 3. If it never could be or is completely over..then itís a 2.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 06:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,742
Here I Come To Save The Day ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
This year's IAABO refresher exam had a question on this -- and the answer was that it does count as 3 points. The original answer key said 2 points, but that was changed after a closer look at the case book plays and after consultation with the NFHS rule book editor. IAABO Refresher Exam Q. 35 A-1 is behind the 3-point line near the top of the free throw semi-circle. A-1 attempts a diagonal pass to a teammate in the corner. B-1 deflects the pass which enters the basket. The official awards Team A three points. Is the official correct? Answer: Yes 5.2.1, Case Book 5.2.1 Situation C(b)
Nice citation BayStateRef, thanks, especially if the answer is indeed not just an IAABO "interpretation" but a NFHS consultation.

While the "interpretation" may be deemed wrong by some highly respected and esteemed Forum members, it's still a valid IAABO/NFHS "interruption", and until changed may be the only "interpretation" we can hang our hats on.

While I now feel better about my opinion, I would still like to see some of the original intent language back from ancient times when the rule was changed.

How about Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. to the rescue?

__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 24, 2019 at 06:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 06:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,742
Inconsistent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Probably wonít get far citing editors. These case plays are not consistent ...
Really? The NFHS inconsistent? Please say it ain't so.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice citation BayStateRef, thanks, especially if the answer is indeed not just an IAABO "interpretation" but a NFHS consultation.

While the interpretation may be deemed wrong by some highly respected and esteemed Forum members, it's still a valid IAABO/NFHS interruption, and until changed may be the only interpretation we can hang our hats on.

While I now feel better about my opinion, I would still like to see some of the original intent language back from ancient times when the rule was changed.

How about Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. to the rescue?

Itís not an interpretation. Itís two separate case plays. Youíve put them both up in previous posts. They have to be read together..
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2019, 06:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,742
Funk and Wagnalls ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Itís not an interpretation.
Sorry. Fixed it. Forgot to put quotes around all the words. I meant "interpretation" in the Funk and Wagnalls sense, the generic sense, rather then the specific NFHS interpretation sense. Sorry.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dead ball, expiration

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three (3) point attempt made, then changed to a 2 point goal johnny1784 Basketball 24 Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:25am
Ball hits rubber - bounces kono Softball 28 Thu Apr 17, 2008 07:55am
3-point attempt observer Basketball 11 Wed Feb 13, 2008 07:42pm
Shot attempt or on the floor?? SeanFitzRef Basketball 10 Wed Feb 01, 2006 09:10pm
Shot clock expiration/throw-in spot TriggerMN Basketball 3 Fri Jan 23, 2004 02:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1