The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Watching the end of the Richmond-Kansas game last night, there was a question the spot of a throw-in after a shot clock violation. For my own sake, I'm going to clarify the situation to better understand the rule.


The ball is tipped by B1 to the midcourt line. A1 picks up the ball and shoots the ball, with 1 second to go on the shot clock. When the shot clock expires, the ball is in flight and has reached the free throw line. When it is apparent the shot attempt will not hit the rim, the whistle is blown. Where is the throw in? It should be at the spot nearest where the try was attempted, correct?

If so, Higgins and Burr may have missed the call late in the game. (Kansas had attempted a shot at the top of the key, just outside the 3-point arc) Richmond was forced to go the length of the court, instead of receiving the ball on the sideline. It didn't end up mattering, as the Spiders scored with a second to go to win, but I was just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 662
Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
You cannot assume a shot will not hit the rim(even if you know it plainly in site that it will not hit the rim), you have to let the shot clock expire, signal shot clock violation, and then put the ball in play at the spot closest to where the shot was taken.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,868
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Where is the throw in? It should be at the spot nearest where the try was attempted, correct?

The violation is 9-10.2 (try not striking the ring) -- so the spot closest to the violation is the spot closest to the ring.

If it was a violation of 9-10.1 (not releasing the try before the shot clock horn), then the location would be the spot closest to the ball as the horn sounded.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
It was the former, Bob. Thank you for clearing that up. Once again, the officials did in fact get the call right!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1