The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 142
IAABO Exam #19

Billy's not the only one getting questions wrong!

"Thrower-in A-1 reaches the ball through the plane of the boundary line and, with his/her free hand, intentionally pushes defender B-1. The official charges A-1 with an intentional personal foul. Is the official correct?"

The answer is yes. The reference given was 4-19-3d which mentions "excessive contact". How is this excessive contact? It is no different than pushing during rebounding. The question says "intentionally", but it has been said many times here that the word "intentional" does not appear in the definition of "Intentional Foul".

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 08:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,317
It is virtually impossible for the thrower-in to push a defender and it not be an intentional action. What purpose does the thrower-in have in taking one hand and putting it across the boundary line?

And I have called intentional fouls on rebounding action.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 01:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,667
ODog Is Correct ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
"Thrower-in A-1 reaches the ball through the plane of the boundary line and, with his/her free hand, intentionally pushes defender B-1. The official charges A-1 with an intentional personal foul. Is the official correct?"
I actually got this question correct, and did so easily, because I've read about this situation somewhere before and remembered the answer.

I did a casebook search (the 2011-12 Casebook is the most recent casebook I have on my hard drive), a Forum search, and a search of the Forum's Past Interpretations Archive, and came up with nothing.

I must be remembering a past IAABO Refresher Exam question. In the IAABO Universe, Refresher Exam questions and answers are often precedent setting, carrying similar weight to NFHS Casebook plays, or NFHS Annual Interpretations, to those of us who live in IAABO Universe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
The questions are recycled ad nauseam year after year, plucked from previous exams and reconstituted ...
I have thirty-eight years of hard copy (paper) IAABO Refresher Exams and, unfortunately, have no other method except using my eyes to search these, which would take hours.

Maybe somebody can search more recent Casebook plays (Nevadaref) and come up with a citation to confirm the IAABO Refresher Exam answer.

I'm positive that I've read about this situation somewhere before and that it was interpreted as an intentional foul.

Now, where are my house keys?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 02, 2018 at 02:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 01:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,667
Similar, But Not Exactly The Same ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
"Thrower-in A-1 reaches the ball through the plane of the boundary line and, with his/her free hand, intentionally pushes defender B-1. The official charges A-1 with an intentional personal foul. Is the official correct?" The answer is yes.
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

SITUATION 1: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)

There must be a difference between A1 losing his balance, reaching out, and putting his hand on B1; and A1 intentionally pushing defender B-1.

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post917559
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 02, 2018 at 03:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 02:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,667
Flagged ...

I attended an IAABO Refresher Exam meeting a few nights ago. About thirty of us got together to go over the questions and to compare our individual answers with each other, and with the site host's official IAABO answer sheet.

The site host indicated that our local interpreter flagged question #16 as confusing or misleading, and that while the answer remained "Yes", the question and answer would be further discussed at our late November board meeting.

Our local interpreter also flagged questions #35 and #37 as confusing or misleading, to also be further discussed at our late November board meeting.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2018, 02:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,667
Groucho Marx On The Forum, How Cool Is That ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Billy's not the only one getting questions wrong!
Join the club. I get the feeling that it's not a very exclusive club.

Send your annual dues to Mark Padgett. He takes MasterCard, Visa, your checking account number, your savings account number, or cash in unmarked bills in small denominations (the way they usually do it in Chicago).

__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 02, 2018 at 02:25pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 iaabo exam upfrontcs Basketball 0 Fri Jan 01, 2016 09:44am
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
IAABO exam Zebra06 Basketball 2 Fri Aug 15, 2008 07:41pm
IAABO Exam ref18 Basketball 19 Sun Nov 25, 2007 09:54pm
IAABO mechanics exam Q 31 oc Basketball 4 Sun Nov 09, 2003 09:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1