![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS: Anyone of the remaining Team B Players and Team B chooses who attempts the FTs. NCAA Men's: Team A Head Coach chooses, !NCAA Women's and FIBA: I am sure because I do not have either set of Rules in front of me. NBA/WNBA: This situation cannot happen because a Team must have five players on the court even if the Player utilized has already fouled out of the game. There are special rules if this Player subsequently commits foul(s) after reentering the game. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Something Is Rotten In The State Of Denmark (Hamlet, William Shakespeare) ...
This below is what led me to start this thread:
2018-19 IAABO Refresher Exam 41) Team A has no timeouts remaining and has only five players and no substitutes. A-2 appears to be injured and the coach enters the court to attend to A-2. A-2 is OK. The official informs the coach that A-2 must stay in the game and charges Team A with an excess timeout. Is the official correct? Answer: Yes. This states that the injured player must stay in the game, that the team cannot play with only four players, forces the coach to take an excess timeout, and forces the team to be charged with technical foul for the excess timeout. It sounded fishy to me.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Oct 30, 2018 at 02:20pm. |
|
|||
|
Citation 3-3-6 ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 02, 2018 at 11:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() When are you going to install keyless entry? Now what was my code again?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
I retired from officiating men's and women's college basketball in 2008, so I am not always up-to-date. Feel free to correct me. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Art. 1. Personal fouls—The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul shall be attempted by the offended player, unless one of the conditions of Article 2 or 3 of this section are met. Art 2. The free throw(s) that were to be attempted by the offended player shall be attempted by that player’s substitute unless no substitute is available, in which case any team member shall attempt the free throw(s) when the offended player is disqualified or ejected or must withdraw because he is bleeding or has blood on his uniform or person, or when a player is withdrawn because of a lost, displaced or irritated contact lens. Art. 3. When an injured player is unable to attempt a free throw try(s), the head coach from the opposing team shall select one of the four remaining players on the playing court to attempt the free throw try(s). When a foul is flagrant and the injured player is unable to attempt free throw try(s), the injured player's head coach shall select any player or team member to attempt the free throw try(s). When the injured player is bleeding, his head coach may: 1) provide a substitute for the bleeding player who will attempt the free throw try(s), or 2) request a timeout and attempt to remedy the blood situation. (See Rule 3-6.3.f ) Art. 4. Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team. However, the same player shall shoot both free throws. |
|
|||
|
2018-19 IAABO Refresher Exam Question 41 ...
This post may be only for IAABO members, but, of course, all are welcome to participate.
In case you haven't guessed it by now, I got this question wrong and I'm really pissed. 2018-19 IAABO Refresher Exam 41) Team A has no timeouts remaining and has only five players and no substitutes. A-2 appears to be injured and the coach enters the court to attend to A-2. A-2 is OK. The official informs the coach that A-2 must stay in the game and charges Team A with an excess timeout. Is the official correct? Answer Key: Yes. This above states that the coach attended player must stay in the game, that the team cannot play with only four players, and forces the coach to take an excess timeout, and a team technical foul. 2002-03 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 5: Team A is playing with five players, but has no remaining substitutes available when one of the players has an asthma attack. The coach is beckoned onto the floor. RULING: The player must leave the game unless a time-out is requested and granted to Team A with the player being ready to resume by the end of the time-out. The team may continue with fewer than five players if there are no substitutes available. An injured/ill player may return to the game after recovery. (3-3-5) This above states that the injured player doesn't have to stay in the game, and that the team can play with four players. So, which is correct, the 2018-19 IAABO Refresher Exam Question 41, or the 2002-03 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 5? - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - And to muck matters up, we have this additional citation: Casebook Play 8.2 SITUATION B: A1 is fouled and will be shooting two free throws. After A1’s first free-throw attempt, B6 (Team B’s only remaining eligible substitute) replaces B2. A1’s second free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. During rebounding action for A1’s missed second free-throw attempt, and before the clock starts, A1 pushes B3 in the back causing B3 to roll an ankle. Team B is in the bonus. B3 is unable to immediately continue playing. Team B requests and is granted a time out in order to allow B3 to recover from the ankle injury so as to remain in the game. B3 is still not able to play after the time out has ended. RULING: B2 may return to the game and replace B3 and shoot B3’s free throw attempts despite having been replaced since he/she is the only available substitute. (3-3-4) This above states that in rare cases a player who has been replaced doesn't have to sit a tick and may reenter the game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 01, 2018 at 03:33pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Billy: First, I would not say that my CB Play mucks things up, , because it refers to a Situation where under normal conditions B2 would not be allowed to return to the game until the Game Clock had started and then stopped again, and therefore does not apply to Question #41.Second, it is my humble opinion that the Answer Key is incorrect. There is nothing in the Rules that would force a Team to play an injured Player. That Game Official should be made to retake that Cadet Course. Someone should be emailing Roger MacTavish about this Question and Question #14. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Beckoned ...
Bad wording on my part. The coach was beckoned, but the player wasn't injured. I probably should have put "injured" in quotes. I changed it to "coach attended". Sorry.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 01, 2018 at 03:35pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Player does not sit a tick...or does he? | bucky | Basketball | 23 | Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:54am |
| What states play/don't play middle school football | Texas Aggie | Football | 16 | Sun Jun 22, 2014 01:02pm |
| Tick tock | kdf5 | Football | 18 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:56am |
| Just to Tick Off The Crowd | rainmaker | Basketball | 12 | Tue Oct 28, 2003 01:53pm |