![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It's Not A Dribble ...
Quote:
9-5: Illegal Dribble: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Let's make this as simple as possible and leave the backboard, and the throw out of it. Play: A1 ends his dribble, intentionally throws the ball in the air, runs several feet, and catches the ball that hasn't touched the floor. Travel, or illegal dribble? 4-44-3: Travel: The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. It's not a try, nor a pass, nor a fumble. I don't believe that it's even a dribble, illegal, or otherwise. 4-15: Dribble: ART. 1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard. ART. 2 During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s). ART. 3 The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. The ball is thrown into the air, not batted in into the air. It's not a legal dribble. It's not an illegal dribble. It's not a dribble. It's a travel.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 05, 2018 at 05:35pm. |
|
|||
|
Please Confirm, Or Deny, This Interpretation …
Quote:
Let's move forward, and not look back. I think that I'm starting to get it. Play A: A1 ends his dribble, intentionally throws the ball in the air, runs several feet, and catches the ball that hasn't touched the floor. 4-15: Dribble: ART. 3 The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. After the player ends his dribble, he throws it into the air. We all know that a player, all by himself, no defense nearby, may occasionally start his dribble by throwing it into the air (the rule says thrown to the floor, but gravity will end up doing that eventually). So that's the start of a possible second dribble, and his subsequent catch of ball seals the deal and makes it a dribble for sure, more so, an illegal (double) dribble. Play B: A2 ends his dribble, intentionally throws the ball off his backboard, runs several feet, catches it, and then dunks. Now add in the throw subsequently bouncing off the backboard. Fundamental 19 tells us that a ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble. So with no backboard involved in the play, it's an illegal (double) dribble. But with the backboard in the play, the portion of the play where the thrown ball bounces off the backboard back into the hands of the player is not considered to be a part of a dribble (Fundamental 19) so it's not an illegal (double) dribble, so it's legal. https://youtu.be/uAskXXKV2GU This apparently legal NFHS "LeBron James play" has nothing to do with traveling, and/or foot movement, it's all about legal dribbling, and/or illegal dribbling. The possibility of traveling (running to catch) was the shiny object that distracted me. With one rare exception, one must be holding the ball to travel. Can anyone please confirm, or deny, the reasoning and logic behind this interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jul 07, 2018 at 11:55am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Save
|
|
|||
|
I'm A Man Of My Word ...
I was wrong. Nice citations. Thanks for the clarification.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jul 07, 2018 at 12:40pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
We've Moved ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball thrown into Dead ball territory | MASS F/B UMP | Softball | 11 | Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am |
| Break-away dunk - off the backboard. Legal? | rfp | Basketball | 10 | Wed Jan 07, 2009 01:35pm |
| Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
| Free throw thrown off backboard | latterdaysaint | Basketball | 16 | Tue Feb 26, 2002 02:40pm |