![]() |
|
|
|||
Jump Ball, then . . .
This was thrown out there over at a kindergarten FB forum today.
I'm thinking this is a no-call due to the "while on defense" exception clause in 9-9-3. But is the blue player's touch enough to establish that he is a defender? What particular rule(s) do you ascribe to this situation? Jump Ball, then Backcourt Situation
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Fri Jun 29, 2018 at 07:43pm. |
|
|||
Havlicek Stole The Ball! Havlicek Stole The Ball! (Johnny Most) …
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.
... a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his, or her, frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one, or both, feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing, and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt, or the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jun 30, 2018 at 06:35am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
The "defensive player" exception wouldn't apply during the period immediately after a throw-in before TC inbounds was established. I don't know why it would apply during the same period after a jump ball.
That said, the "right" call is no call. |
|
|||
Quote:
If anything, it makes for a great review of the tenets of the rules regarding backcourt, team control, location of the ball, etc.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
No Team Control ...
Quote:
Because there is no team control during the period immediately after a throwin, and thus, no offensive, nor defensive, players? Lack of team control during the period immediately after a throwin (and, thus lack of offensive, and defensive, players) continues until one team gains player control, and thus, team control? Same thing (lack of offensive, and defensive, players) during a jump ball continues until one team gains player control, and thus, team control? 9-9-3: ... while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jun 30, 2018 at 01:41pm. |
|
|||
Havlicek Stole The Ball ...
Quote:
I agree with no call. I wish I could tell you why. I know that I could use some fancy officiating language (as encouraged by NFHS new Point of Emphasis) and talk my way out of an argument with a coach, but I'm not so sure that I could pull the wool over the eyes of the officials on this Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jun 30, 2018 at 12:08pm. |
|
|||
Two Sides to Every Story - Joe Walsh
I can tell you why. It's a no-call because the player intercepted the ball "while on defense" and the exception in 9-9-3 applies.
I can also tell you why I'd defend a partner who calls a backcourt violation on this. Because the player first gained player control -- and thus team control -- in the frontcourt and then stepped into the backcourt. As of right now I can skate on either sheet of ice.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Sat Jun 30, 2018 at 12:26pm. |
|
|||
Technically, it is a backcourt violation for the same reason Bob said a deflected pass would be a backcourt violation in this situation. Jump ball had ended snd nobody was on offense or defense. Therefore no jump ball exception and there is no exception for a defensive player.
All that said, I would not call a backcourt violation on this and I don't think anybody would really notice. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I can understand missing a call, but not deliberately failing to make a call. That lacks integrity. |
|
|||
Quote:
Meanwhile, you stick to throwing out the parents of injured players.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
As for integrity, there are plenty of rules that are deliberately not called because they're bad rules or the intent of the rule is not violated. When is the last time you called a multiple foul? What about swinging of the elbows when it was a T? It was changed becasue no one would call it because the penalty was overkill for the infraction. What about 3 seconds? Every time??
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
In FIBA, swinging the elbows is still a technical foul, and yet it is still called in those games. Multiple fouls, on the other hand, are rare situations (It is hard to imagine a situation where two players foul an opponent at the same time while the ball is live, so even if A1 shoots, is hit by B1 in the act of shooting, and then is hit by B2, that is a false multiple foul, not a true multiple foul, unless B1 and B2 hit A1 almost at the exact same time). Usually, something will happen to suspend 3 seconds if someone is in the lane that long (someone shoots, the ball is passed to the player in the lane, or the ball is turned over), so most potential 3-second violations never materialize, even if officials would prefer to not call them. I understand your point, though, that officials exercise jury nullification by refusing to enforce rules that are bad, in their opinions.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump ball held ball plus injury. | Sharpshooternes | Basketball | 16 | Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:25pm |
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 21 | Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm |
Jump Ball | And-1 | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:28pm |
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 9 | Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm |
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball | KingTripleJump | Basketball | 21 | Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am |