The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I would challenge the statement "If you don't have a count (visible or mental), you don't take time off. Period."

Ball is inbounded in back court and dribbled to FC, passed around, shot taken, etc before its picked up that clock never started.

Any of the officials will have 100% certainty that up to X seconds have passed. What that number is up to the officials to come to consensus on but you can be 100% certain that a number greater than 0 should be deducted. Why does it have to be an all or nothing scenario? Why do we leave ALL the time on OR only the exact amount remaining? Why can't "common sense and logic" be applied to "official information"?
It isn't all or nothing. It is definite or nothing. If you got to 8 in the backcourt, you can take off that 8. If then, in the FC, you got to 4 on the 5 count 3 times, you can take off 12 more. You can't take off for the gaps between the counts unless, for some reason, you were counting then too. You take off any seconds you know to have elapsed and don't fudge for the gaps where you don't know how long it was.

Why? That is how the rules say to handle it. If they want us to guess and make up something, they'd change the rule to remove definite knowledge and say just wing it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 11:29am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It isn't all or nothing. It is definite or nothing. If you got to 8 in the backcourt, you can take off that 8. If then, in the FC, you got to 4 on the 5 count 3 times, you can take off 12 more. You can't take off for the gaps between the counts unless, for some reason, you were counting then too. You take off any seconds you know to have elapsed and don't fudge for the gaps where you don't know how long it was.
Is anyone seriously suggesting this is what you do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Why? That is how the rules say to handle it. If they want us to guess and make up something, they'd change the rule to remove definite knowledge and say just wing it.
Again, not sure anyone said, "wing it." But if you know the clock was stopped and you look up and the clock never moved, then you can take some time off the clock based on what you know should have gone off. Not an exact science but it would be reasonable to always take a second off in those situations. You might take off more if there were multiple dribbles or slow movement up the court. Either way, how is anyone going to really know but you? And you can ask for some information from table people and sometimes even a coach or two might have some insight, but in the end, this is your decision.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Is anyone seriously suggesting this is what you do?



Again, not sure anyone said, "wing it." But if you know the clock was stopped and you look up and the clock never moved, then you can take some time off the clock based on what you know should have gone off. Not an exact science but it would be reasonable to always take a second off in those situations. You might take off more if there were multiple dribbles or slow movement up the court. Either way, how is anyone going to really know but you? And you can ask for some information from table people and sometimes even a coach or two might have some insight, but in the end, this is your decision.

Peace
MSU, again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 12:45pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
I do not recall that none of us have to answer to you or anyone on this board about this issue. Your interpretation of the rule is fine, where you live.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2018, 10:33am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I do not recall that none of us have to answer to you or anyone on this board about this issue. Your interpretation of the rule is fine, where you live.

Peace
A double negative??? So you do have to answer to Camron?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2018, 11:29am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
A double negative??? So you do have to answer to Camron?
No. Keep it moving.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 26, 2018, 02:02am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
In play one, if the C doesn't make a preliminary signal, is it okay if the lead changes his own call and reports the block? Either because of a word by the C, or simply because he realizes after the fact that this is the correct call?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 05:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Make Some Allowance For The Touching, Likely Tenths Of A Second ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It isn't all or nothing. It is definite or nothing. That is how the rules say to handle it. If they want us to guess and make up something, they'd change the rule to remove definite knowledge and say just wing it.
Maybe that's what the rulebook states, but the NFHS interpretation states otherwise. It's definite, or nothing, or an educated guess in this specific circumstance:

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

Also, what we do to correctly answer a written question on a rules exam may be little different than what we do, with our partner's input, in a real game situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
... very few times have I had anyone complain that much about the time when we make an adjustment ... I also always consult with partners when I can and usually we can come to some idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
... you can take some time off the clock based on what you know should have gone off. Not an exact science but it would be reasonable to always take a second off in those situations. You might take off more if there were multiple dribbles or slow movement up the court ... And you can ask for some information from table people and sometimes even a coach or two might have some insight ...
Sometimes we just have to take the bull by the horns and officiate the game according to intent and purpose to the best to our ability under the circumstance presented to us in a real game of basketball, as opposed to taking a written test. I know that it's slippery slope ("What other rules do you ignore BillyMac"), but sometimes we have to try to do what's seems fair to everybody. Note I that said sometimes. I'm not a big loose with the rules guy, but sometimes we just have to do what we have to do.

Hopefully the ruling slips under the radar and the phone doesn't ring the next morning. If it does, then we go the mea culpa route.

That being said, I'm using definite counts as much as reasonably possible, as advocated by Camron Rust ("Eight seconds of a ten second count. Four seconds of a five second count. Two seconds of a three second count. Plus the two seconds I counted in my head once I realized the clock hadn't started. We're running down sixteen seconds off the game clock. What? Twenty seconds? Sorry coach. That's all we can run off with definite knowledge. I'm not running down twenty seconds.").
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri May 25, 2018 at 05:47am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on chopping clock in 3 person mechanics pillsburrydoboi Basketball 6 Tue Apr 11, 2017 06:43pm
Two end of the game situations. (Video) JRutledge Basketball 7 Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:35pm
Free Throw situations (Video) JRutledge Basketball 11 Fri Feb 05, 2016 09:18am
Mechanics stopping clock & encroachment signal johnny1784 Football 31 Fri Sep 30, 2011 09:19pm
Video review situations--NCAA Buckley Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2000 12:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1