The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 06, 2018, 11:03am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,212
Quiz Time ...

Our Connecticut state interpreter has asked me to come up with a few questions from Rule 7 and Rule 8 for possible inclusion in an exam. Can Forum members please peruse my questions and answers and check for errors? It would be very embarrassing for me to submit questions and answers with errors.

Rule 7 Out Of Bounds And The Throwin

1) Inbounder A-1 has a frontcourt endline throwin under his own basket. A-1 lobs the inbound pass over the rectangular backboard to A-2, who catches the inbound pass and scores a goal. Official rules that is a legal play and allows the goal. Is the official correct? No. (7-1-2-b)

2) During the jump ball between A-1 and B-1 to start the game, before the alternating possession procedure has been established, nonjumpers A-2 and B-2 simultaneously cause the ball to go out of bounds. The official rules that play shall be resumed by a jump ball between A-2 and B-2 in the center restraining circle. Is the official correct? Yes. (7-3-2)

3) Inbounder A-1 has a designated spot throwin. Before releasing the inbound pass A-1 moves several feet to his left, outside the three foot wide designated spot. Official rules that A-1 has committed a traveling violation, signals the traveling violation, and awards Team B a designated spot throwin at the original throwin spot. Is the official correct? No. (7-6-3)

4) After a timeout, Team A has a designated spot throwin but does not make a thrower available for the throwin. Team B is ready to play. The administering official uses the resumption of play procedure to prevent delay. The administering official sounds his whistle to indicate play will resume, states that it’s Team A’s ball, points the direction of play, and places the ball on the floor at the designated throwin spot. Is the official correct? Yes. (7-5-1)

5) A-1, while holding the ball near a sideline, inadvertently, and without gaining an advantage, touches a photographer who is out of bounds. Official rules this to be a legal play because to be out of bounds a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line and people are not considered to be objects. Is the official correct? Yes. (7-1-1)

6) The official mistakenly administers a designated spot throwin to the wrong team, handing the ball to inbounder A-1 when it should have been Team B’s throwin. A-1 completes his inbound pass to A-2, who catches the ball, after which the administering official immediately sounds his whistle after becoming aware of the mistake. The official rules that Team A was given the throwin in error and that the error will be rectified by awarding Team B a throwin at the original designated spot. Is the official correct? No. (7-6-6)

7) Inbounder A-1 has a designated spot throwin and releases an inbound pass toward his own basket. Before the ball is touched by another player the ball becomes lodged between the backboard and the ring. Official rules an alternating possession throwin shall be used to resume play in this situation. Is the official correct? No. (9-2-8)

Rule 8 Free Throw

1) For A-1’s first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark. After the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1 the official notices the illegal alignment. The official sounds his whistle, rules simultaneous violations by both teams, and resumes play by the team entitled to the alternating possession throwin from the designated out of bounds spot nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-1-4-b)

2) After a timeout, Team A has a free throw but free thrower A-1 is outside the free throw semicircle and is not available for the free throw. The administering official charges free thrower A-1 with a delay of game technical foul for failing to be in the free throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw. Is the official correct? No. (8-1-2)

3) B-1 is charged with a technical foul for a pregame dunk. A-6, who is not a designated starter, substitutes for A-1, who was a designated starter, and A-6 will attempt the free throws awarded to Team A for the technical foul by B-1. The official rules that this is a legal play. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-3)

4) A-1, who is not in the act of shooting, is intentionally fouled by B-1 and is awarded two free throws. The official rules that there will be no players in the marked lane spaces and that the nine nonshooters must remain behind division line. Is the official correct? No. (8-1-5)

5) A-1, who is in the act of shooting while behind the three point arc, is fouled by B-1. A-1’s field goal attempt is unsuccessful. A-1 is awarded three free throws. A-1 is injured on the play and is removed from the game. Substitute A-6 replaces injured A-1. A-2 attempts the three free throws awarded to injured A-1. The official rules that this is a legal play. Is the official correct? No. (8-2)

6) Player A-1 releases a free throw attempt. B-1, occupying a marked free throw lane space, crosses the free throw line after the release and enters the free throw semicircle before the ball touches the ring, the backboard, or until the free throw ends. B-1 does not contact A-1. A-1’s free throw attempt bounces off the ring and is unsuccessful. After signaling a delayed free throw violation with an extended fist, the official calls a free throw violation on B-1 and allows A-1 a substitute free throw attempt. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 9-1-3h)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon May 07, 2018 at 04:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 06, 2018, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,217
All of the answers are correct. If you provide explanations to accompany the answers and make people read them, then they will likely learn a few things from your quiz questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 06, 2018, 06:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,212
Will This Count ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
All of the answers are correct. If you provide explanations to accompany the answers and make people read them, then they will likely learn a few things from your quiz questions.
Thanks.

Questions will be used for either a refresher exam, or an applicant's exam.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 06, 2018, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 308
These questions look good, and the rules references make sense. This is perfect if your board goes the paper and pencil route in administering these questions as part of a test. Maybe these would also make sense, in combination with relevant "You Make the Call" type videos, to teach officials how certain plays should be called.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 120
Excellent questions, just one typo, a missing "to" (Rule 7, Q7):

Official rules an alternating possession throwin shall be used resume play in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 09:02am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 424
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
This was my feeling also with some double takes. In these to cases I think that the wording would be: Did the official rule correctly? Yes. Did the official administer/signal correctly? No
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
For any yes/no question (in life I assume) the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
For any yes/no question (in life I assume) the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
Correct, and as we said for the question as a whole the questions and answers are correct. However, as this is most likely a teaching/resource document you have to look at the effect. If someone newer or unclear on the rule looks simply at the question and the answer they may end up misapplying a rule. If the question, answer, rule, and explanation of the answer is presented then no issue. With only the question and answer provided (Even with the rule the likelihood of most looking it up is low) you create a situation that may confuse some.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,366
I don't see mention of a throw in violation

3) Inbounder A-1 has a designated spot throwin. Before releasing the inbound pass A-1 moves several feet to his left, outside the three foot wide designated spot. Official rules that A-1 has committed a traveling violation, signals the traveling violation, and awards Team B a designated spot throwin at the original throwin spot. Is the official correct? No. (7-6-3)

nor do I see how this is confusing

"Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no)."

Either the whole statement is true or not. In this case it's not. If a test taker gets it wrong is most likely because most officials ALSO get this wrong in application.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 02:03pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 424
Avoid unnecessary ambiguities.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,212
Good Points From All, Thanks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
... the call may be correct but the reason and/or penalty incorrect ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
... double takes ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
For any yes/no question the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
... nor do I see how this is confusing ... Either the whole statement is true or not ... If a test taker gets it wrong is most likely because most officials ALSO get this wrong in application.
Most IAABO tests are like this, read the entire situation, was the official entirely correct, or was he incorrect in some manner.

Confusing is a strong word. IAABO refresher exams (this is most likely to be used as such) are supposed to be very challenging, not confusing.

Read the entire situation, did the official do everything correct, or did he so something incorrect?

Thanks to those who responded. I'll give it a few more days and then submit it to my IAABO Connecticut state interpreter.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon May 07, 2018 at 05:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 04:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,212
Feedback ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
If the question, answer, rule, and explanation of the answer is presented then no issue.
Feedback is always a big part of IAABO exams, either applicant exams, or refresher exams.

For the annual IAABO refresher exam, my local board handles it in the following manner. We all take the exam individually as an open book exam. Then we show up at one of many scheduled exam review sessions. One by one, we read each question aloud, give our answer, get the correct answer from the session moderator, and then discuss why the question was answered in that manner, along with getting a rulebook, or casebook, reference.

All officials must attend one of these refresher exam review sessions (there are about twenty sessions, scattered all over our geographic area, at many times, weeknights, and weekends). One's "ticket" into one of these sessions is a completed exam (even if all the answers are incorrect). Failure to attend one of these refresher exam review sessions (with a completed exam) results in not being eligible to receive assignments for the entire upcoming season. Yeah, your heard me correctly, that's a pretty severe penalty. I have a friend who forgot to write the session he wanted to attend on his calendar, missed all the sessions before he realized his error, and had to go through an entire season without a single game assignment. Ouch.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue May 08, 2018 at 05:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 12:15pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,134
Beyond an Assumption...

Does this question need to supply information regarding what a player from team B did wrong to merit a simultaneous FT violation?

Rule 8 Free Throw

1) For A-1ís first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark. After the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1 the official notices the illegal alignment. The official sounds his whistle, rules simultaneous violations by both teams, and resumes play by the team entitled to the alternating possession throwin from the designated out of bounds spot nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-1-4-b)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 01:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Does this question need to supply information regarding what a player from team B did wrong to merit a simultaneous FT violation?

Rule 8 Free Throw

1) For A-1ís first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark. After the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1 the official notices the illegal alignment. The official sounds his whistle, rules simultaneous violations by both teams, and resumes play by the team entitled to the alternating possession throwin from the designated out of bounds spot nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-1-4-b)
That information is provided by the position of A2 along lane line.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quiz time: batter picks up pitched ball jTheUmp Baseball 4 Tue May 15, 2012 01:41pm
Slightly OT - it's quiz time Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Sun Jul 10, 2011 02:39pm
Quiz time for newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 31 Tue Mar 09, 2010 06:49pm
Darin Hayes "Crunch Time Quiz" Question #1 karlj2 Football 10 Tue Oct 05, 2004 07:36am
A little quiz... BktBallRef Basketball 16 Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1