The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 09:02am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
This was my feeling also with some double takes. In these to cases I think that the wording would be: Did the official rule correctly? Yes. Did the official administer/signal correctly? No
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, a distinct possibility, several answers are not clear because the yes/no option does not focus on exactly what is at issue--the call, reason/rule, or penalty. That is, the call may be correct (yes) but the reason and/or penalty incorrect (no):

For example, 7-3. The ref correctly calls the throw-in violation (yes), but incorrectly calls it a travel (no) and awards a TI at the original spot (yes).

8-4: Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no).

No? What am I missing?
For any yes/no question (in life I assume) the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
For any yes/no question (in life I assume) the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
Correct, and as we said for the question as a whole the questions and answers are correct. However, as this is most likely a teaching/resource document you have to look at the effect. If someone newer or unclear on the rule looks simply at the question and the answer they may end up misapplying a rule. If the question, answer, rule, and explanation of the answer is presented then no issue. With only the question and answer provided (Even with the rule the likelihood of most looking it up is low) you create a situation that may confuse some.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I don't see mention of a throw in violation

3) Inbounder A-1 has a designated spot throwin. Before releasing the inbound pass A-1 moves several feet to his left, outside the three foot wide designated spot. Official rules that A-1 has committed a traveling violation, signals the traveling violation, and awards Team B a designated spot throwin at the original throwin spot. Is the official correct? No. (7-6-3)

nor do I see how this is confusing

"Ref calls an intentional foul and correctly clears the lane (yes) but incorrectly requires players to be behind the division line (no)."

Either the whole statement is true or not. In this case it's not. If a test taker gets it wrong is most likely because most officials ALSO get this wrong in application.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 02:03pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Avoid unnecessary ambiguities.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Good Points From All, Thanks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
... the call may be correct but the reason and/or penalty incorrect ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
... double takes ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
For any yes/no question the whole statement must be true for a YES otherwise it's a NO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
... nor do I see how this is confusing ... Either the whole statement is true or not ... If a test taker gets it wrong is most likely because most officials ALSO get this wrong in application.
Most IAABO tests are like this, read the entire situation, was the official entirely correct, or was he incorrect in some manner.

Confusing is a strong word. IAABO refresher exams (this is most likely to be used as such) are supposed to be very challenging, not confusing.

Read the entire situation, did the official do everything correct, or did he so something incorrect?

Thanks to those who responded. I'll give it a few more days and then submit it to my IAABO Connecticut state interpreter.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon May 07, 2018 at 05:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 04:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Feedback ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
If the question, answer, rule, and explanation of the answer is presented then no issue.
Feedback is always a big part of IAABO exams, either applicant exams, or refresher exams.

For the annual IAABO refresher exam, my local board handles it in the following manner. We all take the exam individually as an open book exam. Then we show up at one of many scheduled exam review sessions. One by one, we read each question aloud, give our answer, get the correct answer from the session moderator, and then discuss why the question was answered in that manner, along with getting a rulebook, or casebook, reference.

All officials must attend one of these refresher exam review sessions (there are about twenty sessions, scattered all over our geographic area, at many times, weeknights, and weekends). One's "ticket" into one of these sessions is a completed exam (even if all the answers are incorrect). Failure to attend one of these refresher exam review sessions (with a completed exam) results in not being eligible to receive assignments for the entire upcoming season. Yeah, your heard me correctly, that's a pretty severe penalty. I have a friend who forgot to write the session he wanted to attend on his calendar, missed all the sessions before he realized his error, and had to go through an entire season without a single game assignment. Ouch.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue May 08, 2018 at 05:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 12:15pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Beyond an Assumption...

Does this question need to supply information regarding what a player from team B did wrong to merit a simultaneous FT violation?

Rule 8 Free Throw

1) For A-1’s first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark. After the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1 the official notices the illegal alignment. The official sounds his whistle, rules simultaneous violations by both teams, and resumes play by the team entitled to the alternating possession throwin from the designated out of bounds spot nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-1-4-b)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 01:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Does this question need to supply information regarding what a player from team B did wrong to merit a simultaneous FT violation?

Rule 8 Free Throw

1) For A-1’s first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark. After the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1 the official notices the illegal alignment. The official sounds his whistle, rules simultaneous violations by both teams, and resumes play by the team entitled to the alternating possession throwin from the designated out of bounds spot nearest to where the simultaneous violation occurred. Is the official correct? Yes. (8-1-4-b)
That information is provided by the position of A2 along lane line.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 02:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Trick Question ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
... what a player from team B did wrong to merit a simultaneous FT violation?

For A-1’s first of a one and one free throw, offensive player A-2 is in the first marked lane space above the neutral zone mark ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
That information is provided by the position of A2 along lane line.
Raymond is correct. It's a trick question that really shouldn't be that tricky because the question has been around for more than thirty five years.

A-2 violates because he's in a space that he can't be in. Team B violates because a Team B player isn't in a space that a Team B player must be in.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun May 13, 2018 at 04:01pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quiz time: batter picks up pitched ball jTheUmp Baseball 4 Tue May 15, 2012 01:41pm
Slightly OT - it's quiz time Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Sun Jul 10, 2011 02:39pm
Quiz time for newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 31 Tue Mar 09, 2010 06:49pm
Darin Hayes "Crunch Time Quiz" Question #1 karlj2 Football 10 Tue Oct 05, 2004 07:36am
A little quiz... BktBallRef Basketball 16 Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1