![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
A 50-50 decision in the 3Q does not carry anywhere close to the same level of scrutiny that a 50-50 decision on the last play of a tied game carries. Like it or not, that's the way it is and that's why this job is an art, not a science.
We can't even reach a consensus on this thread about what happened on the play. That tells me that the Final Four official responsible for making that call or no-call did just fine. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If presented in a vacuum I'm sure there would be a consensus, or something around 80/20 in favor of foul. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I know the 2 supervisors I have who do the most video review and the most training of their staffs would want this play no-called.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Add me to the foul column. Defender is not legal and makes contact with an airborne shooter causing her to lose balance and land against the basket support. She did not go down like that on her own. The official did a great job of getting in front of that play and looked to have a great angle, but just didn't make the call.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I agree with Bob Jenkins. It will be interesting to see if this makes our video next year. To me the defender is running straight down her path and never comes into the offensive player. In fact the overhead angle has her, IMHO, moving to her right a step. They come together at a spot on the floor. I have the offensive player moving into a vertical defensive player who has maintained her path. I was ok with the no call live and ok with it here on film. I am not sure the defender did anything wrong except be bigger than the offensive player which caused the offensive player to bounce off of her when they came together. Again just my opinion. If it does make the video, it will be interesting to see what the powers that be think about it. Both the C from a good angle slightly behind and the L have a good look at the action of both players.
Last edited by walt; Mon Apr 02, 2018 at 09:21am. |
|
|||
|
If we are talking about the last play before the foul at 3 seconds, the MSU player dribbled right to a defender that got to the ball before any contact. That is not a foul anytime I have been officiating and if I saw what I saw on video in my game, I would hope I would pass on that play as the officials did yesterday.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Miss St @ Ole Miss (Video) | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 15 | Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:12pm |
| NCAAW - End of TO | bob jenkins | Basketball | 7 | Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:03pm |
| Ncaaw | bob jenkins | Volleyball | 5 | Wed Aug 28, 2013 01:08pm |
| Two NCAAW questions. | mick | Basketball | 4 | Sun Mar 14, 2010 02:26pm |
| NCAAW Rules | IREFU2 | Basketball | 16 | Thu May 10, 2007 08:48pm |