The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 26, 2013, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
Ncaaw

Two plays from this weekend's opening tournament:

1) About 6 points into set 1, the official scorekeeper notices during a rally that the libero is wearing a number different from the number on the line-up card, and notifies the referee. (Ignore why it took so long to discover this; it was the starting libero; new uniforms; they changed what uniforms to wear on the bus; AS is a softball player who was just learning, etc.). When does the referee stop play? What happens to the result of the rally? What's the penalty?

2) In set 2 of the same match, a player different from the one who the libero replaced enters the game for the libero (7 went out; 15 came in 3 rallies later). When does the scorekeeper (well, AS) notify the referee? Can the coach get the wrong player out and the right player in before the serve?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 27, 2013, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

1) About 6 points into set 1, the official scorekeeper notices during a rally that the libero is wearing a number different from the number on the line-up card, and notifies the referee. (Ignore why it took so long to discover this; it was the starting libero; new uniforms; they changed what uniforms to wear on the bus; AS is a softball player who was just learning, etc.). When does the referee stop play? What happens to the result of the rally? What's the penalty?
In this situation, play is stopped when noticed due to improper player on court. If the team was serving, all points in the current rally are removed and other team gets a point and serve. If the team was receiving, correct the players on the court with point to serving side.

If the libero number was a player on the bench or even in the set, that player must be the libero for the current set. If libero number on line-up doesn't exist, the coach can re-designate the libero to the current libero on the floor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

2) In set 2 of the same match, a player different from the one who the libero replaced enters the game for the libero (7 went out; 15 came in 3 rallies later). When does the scorekeeper (well, AS) notify the referee? Can the coach get the wrong player out and the right player in before the serve?
In this situation, the R2 will correct the switch before the serve --i.e. put #7 back in the set, and charge the team with a delay sanction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 27, 2013, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavbref View Post
In this situation, play is stopped when noticed due to improper player on court. If the team was serving, all points in the current rally are removed and other team gets a point and serve. If the team was receiving, correct the players on the court with point to serving side.

If the libero number was a player on the bench or even in the set, that player must be the libero for the current set. If libero number on line-up doesn't exist, the coach can re-designate the libero to the current libero on the floor.



In this situation, the R2 will correct the switch before the serve --i.e. put #7 back in the set, and charge the team with a delay sanction.
thank you.

both of those are what I (the scorekeeper) thought.

In item 1, what if the referee did not stop play when notified, but waited until the end of the rally? In this instance, the receiving team had the improper libero, and they won the rally. So, is it a point for the receiving team (on the rally), and then a "loss of rally" for the improper libero, everyone rotates and we start with the next server? Or, is it a "mind change" and the previous rally gets awarded to the serving team and the same player who served continues?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 27, 2013, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Wrong Libero

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
thank you.

both of those are what I (the scorekeeper) thought.

In item 1, what if the referee did not stop play when notified, but waited until the end of the rally? In this instance, the receiving team had the improper libero, and they won the rally. So, is it a point for the receiving team (on the rally), and then a "loss of rally" for the improper libero, everyone rotates and we start with the next server? Or, is it a "mind change" and the previous rally gets awarded to the serving team and the same player who served continues?
It is the latter (Mind Change).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 27, 2013, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
again, what I did -- and then when the R2 (is that what it's called) inquired about the server he thought it was the wrong server because it should have been the former (essentially a point for each team and a rotation for each team).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 28, 2013, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 698
It is interesting to see these thing also happen at the college level. I just thought they occured in my High School games.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAAW -- Next Server bob jenkins Volleyball 8 Fri Sep 28, 2012 05:54am
NCAAW Rules IREFU2 Basketball 16 Thu May 10, 2007 08:48pm
Why not the same ref shirts? - NCAAW BearBoy Basketball 8 Wed Apr 04, 2007 09:55am
NCAAW Rule chayce Basketball 2 Sun Nov 27, 2005 05:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1