The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
FT Question

NFHS Rules
With about 1:30 left in the game B25 fouls A10. R1 reports the foul and the scorer tells R1 that is the fifth foul on B25. R1 tells B25 that is his 5th foul. R1 then tells the Coach of Team B that B25 has 5 fouls. B25 then goes to to bench. R1 tells the clock keeper to start the 15 second timer. Before B Coach has an opportunity to replace B25, R2 lets A10 shoot the first FT and it is good. B coach then tells R1 that A10 can not shoot the free throw until he has replace B25. He says that they cannot play with just 4 players. Should R allow B coach to replace B25 and not allow the first FT or should the FT count? Is there a rule for this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,254
Search the interps on this site and you will find this play (I think). The correct ruling should be "It's not one of the CEs, so the FT stands."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 10:51am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Rules
With about 1:30 left in the game B25 fouls A10. R1 reports the foul and the scorer tells R1 that is the fifth foul on B25. R1 tells B25 that is his 5th foul. R1 then tells the Coach of Team B that B25 has 5 fouls. B25 then goes to to bench. R1 tells the clock keeper to start the 15 second timer. Before B Coach has an opportunity to replace B25, R2 lets A10 shoot the first FT and it is good. B coach then tells R1 that A10 can not shoot the free throw until he has replace B25. He says that they cannot play with just 4 players. Should R allow B coach to replace B25 and not allow the first FT or should the FT count? Is there a rule for this situation?

In order:

1) The result of A1's first FTA stands.

2) Replace B25.

3) Resume play with A1's second FTA.

4) R1 gets to slap R2 upside the head with a 2x4 in the dressing room after the game.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 10:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,677
The coach saying something doesn't make it a rule.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 12:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
He's Late, He's Late, For A Very Important Date ...

No time to say hello, good-bye, He's late, He's late, He's late.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
R1 gets to slap R2 upside the head ...
It's a good thing that this wasn't a one and one situation with the free throw attempt unsuccessful. Now that would be ... I just don't know how to describe it in a polite way for a family oriented Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 10, 2018 at 12:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No time to say hello, good-bye, He's late, He's late, He's late.



It's a good thing that this wasn't a one and one situation with the free throw attempt unsuccessful. Now that would be ... I just don't know how to describe it in a polite way for a family oriented Forum.
FUBAR maybe(insert your own words)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 01:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
Can You Dig It ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
FUBAR...
"Shut you' mouth" (Isaac Hayes, Theme From Shaft, 1971).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
FUBAR maybe(insert your own words)
Nah, its Private Snafu.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 06:08pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperbbb View Post
nah, its private snafu.
fido!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2018, 06:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Search the interps on this site and you will find this play (I think). The correct ruling should be "It's not one of the CEs, so the FT stands."
2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bs coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bs head coach shall be notified of B2s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officials error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk Question and Base Abandonment Question easygoer Baseball 7 Fri May 23, 2014 11:11am
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1