The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western PA
Posts: 938
AP throw in question.

A1 has the ball for an AP throw in. Obviously the arrow is pointing toward team A's basket. A1 throws the ball across court OOB untouched. Does the arrow change after the throw in? Where should the arrow be pointing after the throw in and where should it be pointing after team B successfully throws the ball in?



Answers: Yes! Toward Team B.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".

Last edited by thumpferee; Wed Jan 31, 2018 at 09:31pm. Reason: NM. Figured it out with help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 606
NFHS Case 6.5.4 Sit A.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
A1 has the ball for an AP throw in. Obviously the arrow is pointing toward team A's basket. A1 throws the ball across court OOB untouched. Does the arrow change after the throw in? Where should the arrow be pointing after the throw in and where should it be pointing after team B successfully throws the ball in?



Answers: Yes! Toward Team B.
When does the arrow change? Did any of those things occur? Is B's throw-in an AP throwin?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western PA
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does the arrow change? Did any of those things occur? Is B's throw-in an AP throwin?
The first of your questions was my original question. When does the arrow change?

The ball was never legally thrown in, so the arrow wouldn't change until B legally throws the ball in. Correct?

B's throw in is due to the violation by A. Correct?

What if B violates during that throw in? Arrow still toward A. Correct?

Tx in advance!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:25am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
The first of your questions was my original question. When does the arrow change?

The ball was never legally thrown in, so the arrow wouldn't change until B legally throws the ball in. Correct?

B's throw in is due to the violation by A. Correct?

What if B violates during that throw in? Arrow still toward A. Correct?

Tx in advance!
Why would Team A still have the arrow? They violated their AP throw-in, which means Team B has the arrow. If Team B's throw-in is for a violation, why would they lose the arrow?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does the arrow change? Did any of those things occur? Is B's throw-in an AP throwin?
Arrow changes when Team A violates or throw-in legally ends. Yes, Team A violated. No, B's throw-in is not an A/P throw-in.

NFHS Case 6.5.4 Sit A.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western PA
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Why would Team A still have the arrow? They violated their AP throw-in, which means Team B has the arrow. If Team B's throw-in is for a violation, why would they lose the arrow?
Perfect! I get it now. I needed it explained that way. I may be dislexic.
Thank You! All
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
The first of your questions was my original question. When does the arrow change?

The ball was never legally thrown in, so the arrow wouldn't change until B legally throws the ball in. Correct?
Not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,366
Another instance of rampant AP thrown in issues that has come up a handful of times in my 15 years....

Didn't know this was that hard.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Another instance of rampant AP thrown in issues that has come up a handful of times in my 15 years....

Didn't know this was that hard.
Agree however "..handful of times in my 15 years..." = scarcity. I know it well because of 2 incidents a long time ago. This case and the (A/P + kicking violation) case are burned directly into the piece of cortex I have remaining.

Violation + A/P throw-in + scarcity = confusion
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Thu Feb 01, 2018 at 08:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 05:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,205
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
NFHS Case 6.5.4 Sit A.
6.4.5 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating
procedure. A1 commits a violation. RULING: Bís ball for a throw-in
because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is
pointed towards Bís basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under
the alternating procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation.
A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only
way a team loses its turn under the procedure. COMMENT: If a foul by either team
occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as
required and play continues as it normally would, but the possession arrow is not
reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession
throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in
ends. (6-4-4)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Another instance of rampant AP thrown in issues that has come up a handful of times in my 15 years....

Didn't know this was that hard.
Spent half a local rules meeting plus part of another meeting trying to not browbeat people into understanding that if there is an AP throw-in and any of the scenarios that cause the arrow to not change happens, the immediately following throw-in is not an AP throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 06:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,205
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Spent half a local rules meeting plus part of another meeting trying to not browbeat people into understanding that if there is an AP throw-in and any of the scenarios that cause the arrow to not change happens, the immediately following throw-in is not an AP throw in.
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in.
A1ís throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2ís kicking
violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to
where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession
throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and
therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession
throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession
throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered.
When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking
violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 938
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
didn't billy make your point??? the arrow only changes when 1 of 2 things happen.

1. the throw in is legally touched
2. the throw in team violates
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in question AremRed Basketball 29 Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:27am
Another throw-in question Mark Padgett Basketball 8 Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:06pm
Throw in question. mu4scott Basketball 7 Fri Feb 22, 2008 06:27pm
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Throw-In Question Husker John Basketball 1 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1