The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 562
We screwed up...

I tell my partner 1 and 1. Then I get distracted and he tells them 2 shots. Home rebounds visitors didnt move. He blows the whistle and tells me he screws up.

What do we do... what rule supports us...?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 562
2.10.1 SITUATION H:

A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting and the try or tap is successful. The administering official erroneously awards and announces two free throws instead of one. A1’s first attempt is unsuccessful and B1 rebounds. Play continues briefly with B1 advancing the ball before the official recognizes the error and stops play.

RULING: Since A1 has attempted the merit- ed free throw he/she was entitled to, there is no further correction to be made. Play shall resume with a throw-in by Team B at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where play was interrupted.

I dont like it.. cuz we screwed up.. but has the case book spoken!?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,735
That case play doesn't apply.

There are some others where (a) "everyone" goes for the rebound -- play on, or (b) "only one person" goes for the rebound -- use the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That case play doesn't apply.

There are some others where (a) "everyone" goes for the rebound -- play on, or (b) "only one person" goes for the rebound -- use the arrow.
I couldnt see the case play you are talking about. Could you provide a number?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That case play doesn't apply.

There are some others where (a) "everyone" goes for the rebound -- play on, or (b) "only one person" goes for the rebound -- use the arrow.


Agree. If the erroneous information the official provides causes an unfair advantage to one team—or if no one attempts to rebound—then you have a situation where there was no team control and the status of the rebound cannot be fairly determined. That’s textbook possession arrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 28, 2017, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigt View Post
i couldnt see the case play you are talking about. Could you provide a number?
8.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 06:30am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,855
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
8.6.1
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
I tell my partner 1 and 1. Then I get distracted and he tells them 2 shots. Home rebounds visitors didnt move. He blows the whistle and tells me he screws up.

What do we do... what rule supports us...?
BigT, this is easy and should never happen, and I'm gonna tell you what I do in my pregame and why.
This type of error is easily avoidable, and it happens a lot.
In my pregame, I tell my partners, that on any and all foul shot s,the lead, administering ball official should make eye contact with the other 2 officials and we will "ALL" hold up the fingers necessary for the amount of shots, and on the second shot of 2 we all hold up 1 finger and make eye contact.
is this amateurish ???? Maybe, but me personally, I think it looks professional and we are all on the same page.
I believe in your situation, when you called the foul, you let your partner know it was 1 and 1, but how he got confused between the 1 and 1 or 2 shots is beyond me, if you clearly used your foul mechanics and left him know spot, 1 and 1 or 2 shots. Then you go to the table, report and do everything again, turn to your partner and with eye contact, make sure he has what you have.
But eye contact and communication is the key. These mistake makes you look bad and easy ones like this shouldn't happen.
Someone already posted the answer, but before you post a question here, read the book, find the answer, then post here and see if others know the answer.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewild View Post
BigT, this is easy and should never happen, and I'm gonna tell you what I do in my pregame and why.
This type of error is easily avoidable, and it happens a lot.
In my pregame, I tell my partners, that on any and all foul shot s,the lead, administering ball official should make eye contact with the other 2 officials and we will "ALL" hold up the fingers necessary for the amount of shots, and on the second shot of 2 we all hold up 1 finger and make eye contact.
is this amateurish ???? Maybe, but me personally, I think it looks professional and we are all on the same page.
I believe in your situation, when you called the foul, you let your partner know it was 1 and 1, but how he got confused between the 1 and 1 or 2 shots is beyond me, if you clearly used your foul mechanics and left him know spot, 1 and 1 or 2 shots. Then you go to the table, report and do everything again, turn to your partner and with eye contact, make sure he has what you have.
But eye contact and communication is the key. These mistake makes you look bad and easy ones like this shouldn't happen.
Someone already posted the answer, but before you post a question here, read the book, find the answer, then post here and see if others know the answer.
You can pregame that all you want but that will not stop someone from still administering the FT without doing what you suggest anyway. Pregames are great, but they simply do not stop some mistakes no matter how much you talk about them.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewild View Post
Someone already posted the answer, but before you post a question here, read the book, find the answer, then post here and see if others know the answer.
Joined Dec 2017. 2nd post.

Umm. Welcome aboard?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You can pregame that all you want but that will not stop someone from still administering the FT without doing what you suggest anyway. Pregames are great, but they simply do not stop some mistakes no matter how much you talk about them.
I hear ya, Camron. But it helps to be predictable, and the ball shouldn't be presented too the shooter until eye contact and fingers up are made.
and when it goes wrong, you can let your partner know later in the locker room, and hopefully the official that makes the mistake will remember it next time.

But Camron, you do what works for you and I'll keep doing what works "with success" for us !!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewild View Post
I hear ya, Camron. But it helps to be predictable, and the ball shouldn't be presented too the shooter until eye contact and fingers up are made.
and when it goes wrong, you can let your partner know later in the locker room, and hopefully the official that makes the mistake will remember it next time.

But Camron, you do what works for you and I'll keep doing what works "with success" for us !!!
Oh, I do what you do. But it still doesn't make a partner do so no matter how much you want it to happen.

It is just a pet peeve of mine to hear people suggest that everything can be fixed if you "pre-game it". If I had a dime for every time I've seen someone suggest that it should have been pregamed, I'd be Warren Buffet rich. And if I did pregame everything I've heard suggested, I'd have to arrive at my games 2 days early.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Dec 29, 2017 at 01:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 02:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewild View Post
I hear ya, Camron. But it helps to be predictable, and the ball shouldn't be presented too the shooter until eye contact and fingers up are made.
and when it goes wrong, you can let your partner know later in the locker room, and hopefully the official that makes the mistake will remember it next time.

But Camron, you do what works for you and I'll keep doing what works "with success" for us !!!
Pre-gaming guarantees nothing. Keeping your head in the game during dead balls prevents problems like this. I pre-game the same thing, doesn't mean my partners remember or pay attention.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 29, 2017, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 562
It was this officials first boys Varsity game of his career.. I should have been better. thanks everyone.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We screwed this one up..... Andy Softball 17 Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:59am
I screwed up ... how to fix it? Linknblue Softball 12 Sat Oct 01, 2011 07:46pm
I screwed this one up...(I think) GPC2 Football 13 Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:40am
I think we screwed this up... w_sohl Football 17 Fri Sep 16, 2005 05:06am
I Screwed Up..... tmp44 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 12, 2005 07:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1