The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 12, 2017, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
A scores in B's basket... A gets the ball out of bounds, correct?

Hello! Relatively inexperienced referee here...

I was coaching in a basketball tournament in Minnesota over the weekend (middle school), when one of my boys mistakenly took an inbounds pass and scored in the opponent's basket.

The officials (per them, two MN high school referees) stopped play to assist the scorers, and correctly awarded our opponents 2 points.

However, they also proceeded to award our opponent the ball out of bounds. I thought they were mistaken and asked for clarification. The officials proceeded to tell me that per the rules, because my team scored, the ball goes to the opponent for the subsequent throw-in. I asked if they were sure, which seemed to be the wrong thing to ask, and was told to 'look it up', and play proceeded.

I've subsequently been going through the NHFS rule and case books, and haven't yet been able to pin down who is awarded the throw-in. I'm sure it's there, but if anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 12, 2017, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 502
Your team should have received the throw in -- the team not credited with the score makes the throw in (from anywhere along the end line).

Section 5.1.7 (older rules book on hand so maybe slightly different numbering)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 12, 2017, 04:34pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by smilner View Post
The officials proceeded to tell me that per the rules, because my team scored, the ball goes to the opponent for the subsequent throw-in. I asked if they were sure, which seemed to be the wrong thing to ask, and was told to 'look it up'...
Don't know if you want to prove that you looked it up like they told you to or would be in the position to show them what you found when you did, but Casebook 5.2.3 gives the answer to your question.

You were right.

They weren't.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 12, 2017, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
thanks!

Thanks to you both for your help... I appreciate it!

If I run into them again I might say something, but more than anything, I want to be sure I'm interpreting things correctly as I officiate.

sm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
score for opponent, throw in

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time ever basket interference call, was I correct? jkumpire Basketball 25 Mon Dec 31, 2012 02:29pm
Scores in Wrong Basket rfp Basketball 20 Thu Dec 01, 2005 01:59am
Taking the ball out of bounds after a basket Lew Riley Basketball 18 Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:57am
run scores before ball hits runner greymule Softball 3 Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:19am
Off Ball Foul / Made Basket (Correct Call?) Larks Basketball 28 Tue Jan 22, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1