The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 08:35am
rfp rfp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
Question Scores in Wrong Basket

Girl gets confused and shoots and scores in the other team's basket. Points obviously go to the team into whose basket the ball went, but after the ball goes in, do you blow the whistle and award the ball to the the team of the confused girl? Or no whistle, let them figure out what happened and play on?

When this happened last weekened, I blew the whistle because after it happened there was a lot of confusion. Told the scorer to count the basket for the correct team and then in-bounded to the confused girl's team while getting everyone re-oriented.

Thinking about it later, I'm not sure I should have blown the whistle since there was no violation or foul. Whistle or no whistle?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
If there's significant confusion (for instance, the wrong team tries to inbound the ball), then the whistle is fine. Get it straightened out. If it seems that they have it figured out already, then no need for the whistle. Sounds like you handled it fine.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
blow the whistle, show two points, then depending on wheter or not the score keeper know the rules, check that he's entering the opponents captain as scorer, then administer the ball at the baseline as usuall.

Exception (in fiba anyway): all scores in the own basket made ON PURPOSE is called as violations and are not to be given any points for.
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
[i]check that he's entering the opponents captain as scorer, then administer the ball at the baseline as usuall.

[/B]
Why does the captain get the points????
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I dont think anyone is awarded credit for the goal. Clear up the confusion, get everyone going in the right way and play on. See rule 5-2-1 I believe.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Guys, Voyager (may I call you V'ger?) uses FIBA rules. I'd be willing to bet that this is one of those differences between FED/NCAA and FIBA.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
The points are awarded to the team who's basket they were scored in. The shooter is not credited with the points but a footnote is made refrencing that info.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
Quote:
check that he's entering the opponents captain as scorer, then administer the ball at the baseline as usuall.



Why does the captain get the points????
[/B]
Remember, crazy voyager usually references FIBA rules. I would assume it's just a method to keep track of the points. Now, whether or not that's a FEEBLE excuse is a whole other discussion...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:39am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
What's this?

A post with a FIBA ruling and no BBR to tell us that it's FEEBLE?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Oops, sorry I have never looked at an FIBA rulebook and I didn't pick up on that in the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Guys, Voyager (may I call you V'ger?) uses FIBA rules. I'd be willing to bet that this is one of those differences between FED/NCAA and FIBA.
Chuck, as usual you are right! And to expand on the previous post, if a team repeatedly scores in the wrong basket on purpose a technical foul is issued for unsportsmanlike conduct - only seen it happen once though!
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
On the topic of a basket scored in the wrong basket...what is the procedure for this happening at the beginning of the game, i.e. right after the tip?

I think it is a correctable error but who gets the points, who gets the ball afterwards?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 04:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
On the topic of a basket scored in the wrong basket...what is the procedure for this happening at the beginning of the game, i.e. right after the tip?

I think it is a correctable error but who gets the points, who gets the ball afterwards?
Case book play 5.2.3 is close enough. That one is a player going the wrong way at the start of the second half.

Legal goal. Two points to the other team. End-line throw-in to the team that scored in the wrong basket.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I'm no scorekeeper but I thought this is a foot note?


Anyhow when this has happened to me, I kill it. Score the basket, let the teams know which way they're going, and give it to the SAME team for a throw-in. Don't let the other team throw the ball in - I can see that mistake coming.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

I understand the player NEAREST to the inaccurate shooter get the points.

__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1