The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane O View Post
The ball still had front court status even though B1 was last to touch before A2 secured the ball in the BC. Thought is was a no brainer violation.

Would there be any difference if at the time A2 touches the deflected pass by B1, A2's foot was on the division line?
No. A2 is still in the BC (at least as I read your description of A2's location).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No. A2 is still in the BC (at least as I read your description of A2's location).
So then it would be a violation!

Below is the interp from NFHS which is exactly the play I had this year. If you notice in the interp they don't use wording describing first touch or last touch or anything like that, they just use the wording "caused the ball to have BC status" while still being in team control.

SITUATION 7: A1, in the team’s frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team’s frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A’s frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A’s backcourt, but never having touched in Team A’s backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane O View Post
So then it would be a violation!

Below is the interp from NFHS which is exactly the play I had this year. If you notice in the interp they don't use wording describing first touch or last touch or anything like that, they just use the wording "caused the ball to have BC status" while still being in team control.

SITUATION 7: A1, in the team’s frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team’s frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A’s frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A’s backcourt, but never having touched in Team A’s backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)

This is the entire point of the conversation. The interp does not follow the rule...not even close...Does not follow basic rules of grammar in the rule. The interp is wrong...in so many ways. see cameron post 70 and my 80.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Dec 19, 2017 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
This is the entire point of the conversation. The interp does not follow the rule...not even close...Does not follow basic rules of grammar in the rule. The interp is wrong...in so many ways.
I do get that but just my own personal experience makes me feel the rule interpretation is how the game should be called. Maybe they can write the rule better to more coincide with the interpretation, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane O View Post
I do get that but just my own personal experience makes me feel the rule interpretation is how the game should be called. Maybe they can write the rule better to more coincide with the interpretation, lol.
No, the interpretation is not how it should be called. Aside from the fact that there is no way to reconcile the interpretation with the rule, there are too many ridiculous outcomes.

Consider this. A1 holding the ball in the backcourt near the division line. B2, entirely in the FC, knocks the ball out of A1's hands such that it hits A1's foot. Violation? According to the interpretation, it would be.

Similarly, A1 dribbling near the division line but in the backcourt. B2, entirely in the FC, deflects the ball on the way up where it touches A1's hand again. When B2 touches the ball, it gains FC status. This, according to the interpretation would be a violation.

Both of those are just silly. Stick with the rule until someone can get on the committee to either change the rule or eliminate the erroneous interpretation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 06:13pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, the interpretation is not how it should be called. Aside from the fact that there is no way to reconcile the interpretation with the rule, there are too many ridiculous outcomes.

Consider this. A1 holding the ball in the backcourt near the division line. B2, entirely in the FC, knocks the ball out of A1's hands such that it hits A1's foot. Violation? According to the interpretation, it would be.

Similarly, A1 dribbling near the division line but in the backcourt. B2, entirely in the FC, deflects the ball on the way up where it touches A1's hand again. When B2 touches the ball, it gains FC status. This, according to the interpretation would be a violation.

Both of those are just silly. Stick with the rule until someone can get on the committee to either change the rule or eliminate the erroneous interpretation.
Every time I see this play discussed, I refer to it as Schrödinger's Violation -- the ball simultaneously has frontcourt and backcourt status. The cat is simultaneously alive and dead.

I wish there wasn't such an effort to stand by such an obviously awful interpretation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2017, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
That interpretation is utter nonsense. In no way does one touch occur in two places or at two different times, unless your name is Schrodinger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Every time I see this play discussed, I refer to it as Schrödinger's Violation -- the ball simultaneously has frontcourt and backcourt status. The cat is simultaneously alive and dead.

I wish there wasn't such an effort to stand by such an obviously awful interpretation.
Yes indeed. Funny you should mention Schrödinger. You just put the umlaut on it that I didn't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2018, 01:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
the ball simultaneously has frontcourt and backcourt status.
A situation in a recent game brought this topic up again, sorry to re-hash.

Several feel that the ball cannot have FC and BC status "simultaneously". However, isn't that what happens when A1, in the BC, spins the ball so that it lands in the FC, and returns to him in the BC? I know that is regarding article 2 but still, it is a BC violation and the ball has that "Schrödinger " characteristic.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2018, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, the interpretation is not how it should be called. Aside from the fact that there is no way to reconcile the interpretation with the rule, there are too many ridiculous outcomes.

Consider this. A1 holding the ball in the backcourt near the division line. B2, entirely in the FC, knocks the ball out of A1's hands such that it hits A1's foot. Violation? According to the interpretation, it would be.

Similarly, A1 dribbling near the division line but in the backcourt. B2, entirely in the FC, deflects the ball on the way up where it touches A1's hand again. When B2 touches the ball, it gains FC status. This, according to the interpretation would be a violation.

Both of those are just silly. Stick with the rule until someone can get on the committee to either change the rule or eliminate the erroneous interpretation.
Not arguing your broader point about the wording and poor interpretation - I don't like it either; but your above scenarios don't have team A with possession in their front court.
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2018, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
Not arguing your broader point about the wording and poor interpretation - I don't like it either; but your above scenarios don't have team A with possession in their front court.

If by "possession" you mean "Team Control" then, yes, they do. A has TC. TC doesn't end until there's a try, or the ball becomes dead, or B gains control. So, when the ball reaches the FC (and it does in all the examples), A has TC in the FC.

If by "possession" you mean someone from A is in PC and is in the FC -- well, you're right. But, that's not part of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, the interpretation is not how it should be called. Aside from the fact that there is no way to reconcile the interpretation with the rule, there are too many ridiculous outcomes.



Consider this. A1 holding the ball in the backcourt near the division line. B2, entirely in the FC, knocks the ball out of A1's hands such that it hits A1's foot. Violation? According to the interpretation, it would be.



Similarly, A1 dribbling near the division line but in the backcourt. B2, entirely in the FC, deflects the ball on the way up where it touches A1's hand again. When B2 touches the ball, it gains FC status. This, according to the interpretation would be a violation.



Both of those are just silly. Stick with the rule until someone can get on the committee to either change the rule or eliminate the erroneous interpretation.


Your scenarios do not have team control by team A in the front court, therefore cannot ever be a back court violation.
Team control in the front court is important.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
Your scenarios do not have team control by team A in the front court, therefore cannot ever be a back court violation.
Team control in the front court is important.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where's the emoji of me beating my head against the wall.

Under current (incorrect imo) Fed case play, the plays presented by Camron are indeed violations
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straddling the foul line scarolinablue Baseball 16 Fri May 10, 2013 01:10pm
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Division line phansen Basketball 4 Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm
What was (is) the purpose of the division line? CMHCoachNRef Basketball 36 Fri Jan 16, 2009 05:24pm
Straddling the division line. mick Basketball 21 Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1