![]() |
|
|
|||
I don't think there is a contradiction between the rules as they are written and the interpretation. Ball status is clearly defined. Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1 clearly states that the player A cannot touch the ball in the back court, after the front court deflection by B, before the ball goes back to the back court. It cannot be back in the back court until it takes a bounce.
Am I missing something? |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I agree about confusion. I had to think about it for a while but came to an understanding. Although confusing, it is not contradictory.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
In my mind, I guess B1 touching the ball should give A1 the ability to go get it free of consequence. I think they made this unnecessarily complicated but whatever. That's why they make the big bucks, and I'm driving 30 miles to a 2A school tonight to make $95. |
|
|||
Quote:
The interp says that the catch of the ball by A1 in his BC is both the last touch in the FC and the first touch in the BC. Problem is there's only one touch. Last and first means there are two touches. A last and then a first.....That's what 9-9-1 says. We dont have word simultaneous. 2. Also, grammatically, the wording of the rule about the last touch refers to the player's location. The last touch under 9-9-1 has to be by a player in FC. Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 05:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the ball does not take a bounce in the back court then it still has front court status because B1 touched it in the front court. So if A1 touches it before the bounce, while A1 is in the back court, then it is a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 05:52pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether it bounces or not DOES matter by words of the rule. The last six words are "before it went to the backcourt". "It" meaning the ball. The ball is not in the backcourt until it touches the floor in the backcourt. Last edited by CJP; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 05:55pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The key to understanding this is that the ball has to return to the BC status before A1 can touch it (this is the last 6 words of the rule). If the ball still has FC status when A1 touches it then A1 was the last to touch it in the FC. Because he is standing in the BC, it is a violation.
Last edited by CJP; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 10:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I had a situation that would be similar to this this year. A1 passing the ball around the perimeter to A2 while in the FC. B1 deflects the pass and the ball is heading for the BC. The ball is moving fairly fast and takes it's last bounce just before the division line in the FC. A2 runs 5 feet into the BC and secures the ball. The ball never bounced in the BC. I called the violation. The crowd didn't like it, lol, because it was deflected. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
And from what I've read the interpretation is that A was both the last to touch the ball when it had FC status and the first to touch the ball when it gains BC status. Therefore a violation. Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Straddling the foul line | scarolinablue | Baseball | 16 | Fri May 10, 2013 01:10pm |
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? | NoFussRef | Basketball | 16 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm |
Division line | phansen | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm |
What was (is) the purpose of the division line? | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 36 | Fri Jan 16, 2009 05:24pm |
Straddling the division line. | mick | Basketball | 21 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm |