The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 06:22pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Somebody on A has to be last to touch in FC
The key to understanding this is that the ball has to return to the BC status before A1 can touch it (this is the last 6 words of the rule). If the ball still has FC status when A1 touches it then A1 was the last to touch it in the FC. Because he is standing in the BC, it is a violation.

Last edited by CJP; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 10:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The key to understanding this is that the ball has to return to the BC status before A1 can touch it (this is the last 6 letters of the rule). If the ball still has FC status when A1 touches it then A1 was the last to touch it in the FC. Because he is standing in the BC, it is a violation.
Again, I understand it completely. You are focusing on the last 6 words and not the beginning. First the ball has FC status while it is in the air flying towards A1. A1 is in the BC. The moment he touches the ball it gains BC status. There is no simultaneous in the rule. The interp says his single touch makes him the last to touch in FC and first to touch in back. That's not supported by rule language.

And again, I believe the last to touch in FC refers to the physical location of the player. An A had to be IN FC and touch ball. Touching a ball that has FC status does not mean the player is in FC. Again, I believe the moment it's touched in BC the ball has BC status. Don't agree that single touch means both

Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 17, 2017 at 06:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 06:41pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Again, I understand it completely. You are focusing on the last 6 words and not the beginning. First the ball has FC status while it is in the air flying towards A1. A1 is in the BC. The moment he touches the ball it gains BC status. There is no simultaneous in the rule. The interp says his single touch makes him the last to touch in FC and first to touch in back. That's not supported by rule language.

And again, I believe the last to touch in FC refers to the physical location of the player. An A had to be IN FC and touch ball. Touching a ball that has FC status does not mean the player is in FC. Again, I believe the moment it's touched in BC the ball has BC status. Don't agree that single touch means both
The first sentence in the rule starts out "A player shall not be the first to touch....". It ends with "before it went to the backcourt". So your thoughts about the moment its touched by A1 in the BC it has BC status is false.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The first sentence in the rule starts out "A player shall not be the first to touch....". It ends with "before it went to the backcourt". So your thoughts about the moment its touched by A1 in the BC it has BC status is false.
Your giving me a headache🙃. The moment A1 touches a ball in flight while he is standing in the BC absolutely gives the ball BC status. 4-4-3 and 4. Ball in flight retains location of previous touch etc. ball touched is located where player located. No simultaneous anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The key to understanding this is that the ball has to return to the BC status before A1 can touch it (this is the last 6 letters of the rule). If the ball still has FC status when A1 touches it then A1 was the last to touch it in the FC. Because he is standing in the BC, it is a violation.
No. That is not the key.

A is only prohibited from being the first to touch it in the backcourt (which they are) if and ONLY if A was the last to touch it with FC status BEFORE it returned to A in the backcourt. The key is the word BEFORE. A's touch in the backcourt can not be BEFORE A's touch in the backcourt.

The RULE:

Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Nov 18, 2017 at 12:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 10:08pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
My understanding of the rule is consistent with the interpretation. I get it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2017, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
My understanding of the rule is consistent with the interpretation. I get it.
Your understanding of the rule is consistent with the interp. Problem is that interp is not consistent with rule. We will agree to disagree on this one. Take care.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straddling the foul line scarolinablue Baseball 16 Fri May 10, 2013 01:10pm
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Division line phansen Basketball 4 Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm
What was (is) the purpose of the division line? CMHCoachNRef Basketball 36 Fri Jan 16, 2009 05:24pm
Straddling the division line. mick Basketball 21 Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1