![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
How to handle end of game clock situation
5.0 seconds left on the clock
division line throw in throw in completed into the team's front court dribble to basket subsequent shot ball caroms off rim still 5.0 seconds left on clock Timer admits that the clock was never started officials have no count or definite knowledge of time elapsed What do you do? Do over? Or, go to rebound and finish from there?
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
You have definitive knowledge that more than zero seconds came off the clock. A tap for goal is .3 seconds, and you had at least .4 if there was a shot involved. Start with that and get with your partners and decide if 1 second definitely went off, if 2 seconds definitely went off, etc.
If it is less than 5 seconds, put the ball in play at the point of interruption. If more than 5 seconds, the game is over. And next time everyone should have a count in their head. |
|
|||
|
You still need a count since you will need to adjust clock and inbound the ball from the POI.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, with five seconds left, there's plenty of opportunity for one of the two/three officials to see that the clock didn't start. |
|
|||
|
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You have to catch it right away and leave it at 5.0 and go from original spot or I think I would ask everyone at the table if there is any alternate timing device that could help us out (not a likely thing to have around). If there’s no other information that can help, sounds like we just have to take the ball to the POI and give it to whoever had it when we stopped play. Then we finish those 5 seconds and GTFO as quickly as possible. Last edited by Valley Man; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 11:41am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think that is supported by rule (maybe I am mis-understanding it) |
|
|||
|
no do overs from the original spot. you may have to leave 5 seconds because you have no other definite knowledge but the ball would go in play to wherever it was when you killed it. i haven't gotten my head into the rules like I should just yet but I don't know where you can go back to the original location under the rules...
|
|
|||
|
Under 5 seconds, blowing this dead to fix, and possibly remove time to then have the team redo the throw in with LESS time is tantamount to a disaster. You are screwed either way, but I would always count. It's a tough spot.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A referee's duty is to correct obvious timing errors. We are only required to visibly count seconds during a throw-in, free-throw, backcourt, and closely guarded. You would think in this situation that the defense would be within 6 feet of the ball handler and the primary would be counting and this would be a straight forward fix. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You can't approximate that events must have taken at least X time and use that. That isn't information, that is a guess. You must have definite information....a count.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Agree
|
|
|||
|
If someone in the crew says they were counting, we will go with that. If everyone drops the ball then I don't think there is anything else you can do.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How to handle this situation | alabamabluezebra | Football | 3 | Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:04am |
| How do you handle this situation? | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm |
| Tell me how you handle this situation . . . | Gold_Spark | Baseball | 7 | Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm |
| clock situation in AAU game | 112448 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Mar 22, 2001 06:22pm |