![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Confusion over when A2 can recover throw-in in back court
I'm watching the rules video sent out this week. Coming back to basketball after 15 years off...
In the Team Control Throw In part, this is confusing me. A1 throws in, B1 deflects it in the front court, and ball goes into the back court. A2 jumps from front court, Grabs ball lands in back court, back court violation. A1 throw in, A2 fumbles the throwin in the front court, and it goes into the back court, where he recovers it. Legal. Why can A2 fumble the throw in in the front court and recover in the back court, but if B1 deflects it, he can't recover in the back court? The video says they'll most likely review it next season, and the first scenario was discussed a lot. But this does not make much sense. Last edited by udbrky; Wed Oct 25, 2017 at 03:13am. |
|
|||
Quote:
The restrictions on returning the the backcourt only begin once a player inbounds is holding or dribbling the ball. There are exceptions that excuse the first contact after a throwin or a defensive player stealing the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Correct because this was the first time that PC was established inbounds.
|
|
|||
An easy way to think about this is to consider possession and control. In situation one, he is considered in the front court until he lands in the back court. Therefore, he technically controlled and possessed the ball in the front court even though he landed in the back court (and may have been in the air in the backcourt when he actually caught the ball).
In situation 2, no team controlled the ball in the front court due to the tipped ball so no possession i.e. no backcourt violation. You must have possession in the front court in order for a backcourt violation to come into play. |
|
|||
Quote:
Once that initial player control is established after a throw-in, jump ball, or try for goal, team control in the frontcourt is what is required. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
It took me two days to recover from this game! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 11 | Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:51am |
Confusion on Backcourt | CDurham | Basketball | 36 | Wed Jan 20, 2010 02:00pm |
Dribble, stop, fumble, recover... | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 19, 2008 07:54pm |
Backcourt confusion | gibb2k5 | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:11am |
indirect kick and no time to recover | golfdesigner | Soccer | 3 | Mon Oct 25, 2004 03:47pm |