View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 02:52am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbrky View Post
I'm watching the rules video sent out this week. Coming back to basketball after 15 years off...

In the Team Control Throw In part, this is confusing me.

A1 throws in, B1 deflects it in the front court, and ball goes into the back court. A2 Grabs ball, back court violation.

A1 throw in, A2 fumbles the throwin in the front court, and it goes into the back court, where he recovers it. Legal.

Why can A2 fumble the throw in in the front court and recover in the back court, but if B1 deflects it, he can't recover in the back court?

The video says they'll most likely review it next season, and the first scenario was discussed a lot. But this does not make much sense.
The first one is wrong unless A2 was in the air when catching the ball and then lands in the backcourt. The throw-in exception for establishing control ends when B1 deflects the ball.

The restrictions on returning the the backcourt only begin once a player inbounds is holding or dribbling the ball. There are exceptions that excuse the first contact after a throwin or a defensive player stealing the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote