The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Confusion over when A2 can recover throw-in in back court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103055-confusion-over-when-a2-can-recover-throw-back-court.html)

udbrky Wed Oct 25, 2017 01:50am

Confusion over when A2 can recover throw-in in back court
 
I'm watching the rules video sent out this week. Coming back to basketball after 15 years off...

In the Team Control Throw In part, this is confusing me.

A1 throws in, B1 deflects it in the front court, and ball goes into the back court. A2 jumps from front court, Grabs ball lands in back court, back court violation.

A1 throw in, A2 fumbles the throwin in the front court, and it goes into the back court, where he recovers it. Legal.

Why can A2 fumble the throw in in the front court and recover in the back court, but if B1 deflects it, he can't recover in the back court?

The video says they'll most likely review it next season, and the first scenario was discussed a lot. But this does not make much sense.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 25, 2017 02:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by udbrky (Post 1010553)
I'm watching the rules video sent out this week. Coming back to basketball after 15 years off...

In the Team Control Throw In part, this is confusing me.

A1 throws in, B1 deflects it in the front court, and ball goes into the back court. A2 Grabs ball, back court violation.

A1 throw in, A2 fumbles the throwin in the front court, and it goes into the back court, where he recovers it. Legal.

Why can A2 fumble the throw in in the front court and recover in the back court, but if B1 deflects it, he can't recover in the back court?

The video says they'll most likely review it next season, and the first scenario was discussed a lot. But this does not make much sense.

The first one is wrong unless A2 was in the air when catching the ball and then lands in the backcourt. The throw-in exception for establishing control ends when B1 deflects the ball.

The restrictions on returning the the backcourt only begin once a player inbounds is holding or dribbling the ball. There are exceptions that excuse the first contact after a throwin or a defensive player stealing the ball.

udbrky Wed Oct 25, 2017 03:13am

Yes, my bad, I did forget that they were in the air in 1 - editing

Oh, so now I get it, if A2 is in the back court and then touches it, he's ok?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 25, 2017 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by udbrky (Post 1010556)
Yes, my bad, I did forget that they were in the air in 1 - editing

Oh, so now I get it, if A2 is in the back court and then touches it, he's ok?

Correct because this was the first time that PC was established inbounds.

UNIgiantslayers Wed Oct 25, 2017 07:50am

An easy way to think about this is to consider possession and control. In situation one, he is considered in the front court until he lands in the back court. Therefore, he technically controlled and possessed the ball in the front court even though he landed in the back court (and may have been in the air in the backcourt when he actually caught the ball).

In situation 2, no team controlled the ball in the front court due to the tipped ball so no possession i.e. no backcourt violation. You must have possession in the front court in order for a backcourt violation to come into play.

SC Official Wed Oct 25, 2017 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers (Post 1010562)
In situation 2, no team controlled the ball in the front court due to the tipped ball so no possession i.e. no backcourt violation. You must have possession in the front court in order for a backcourt violation to come into play.

Not necessarily. You only need initial player control inbounds. Whether that initial player control is in the frontcourt or backcourt doesn’t matter. If an A player gains control in A’s backcourt, throws to the frontcourt where it deflects of an A player (i.e. is never controlled) and returns to the backcourt where A is the first to touch, that is a violation even though there was never player control in the frontcourt.

Once that initial player control is established after a throw-in, jump ball, or try for goal, team control in the frontcourt is what is required.

UNIgiantslayers Wed Oct 25, 2017 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010563)
Not necessarily. You only need initial player control inbounds. Whether that initial player control is in the frontcourt or backcourt doesn’t matter. If an A player gains control in A’s backcourt, throws to the frontcourt where it deflects of an A player (i.e. is never controlled) and returns to the backcourt where A is the first to touch, that is a violation even though there was never player control in the frontcourt.

Once that initial player control is established after a throw-in, jump ball, or try for goal, team control in the frontcourt is what is required.

I guess I was only thinking in terms of his situation. I'd be lying if I have ever seen your situation happen or even thought about that happening but it's good information. Thanks for the correction.

udbrky Wed Oct 25, 2017 01:31pm

Thank you, I was trying to figure out what I was missing and why it did not make sense.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1