![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
By that reasoning, a rebounding foul by the defensive team would never get a full reset, and I don't think that can be the intent of the rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Any time a try hits the ring or is successful, the shot clock resets to 30. That's the WHOLE point of a shot clock. Once you take a shot that hits the ring, it resets. I can't imagine the rationale for not having a reset when the offense has done exactly what you've asked them to do.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
By rule, if the defensive team commits a non-shooting foul in the front court with less than 20 seconds on the shot clock (and not in the bonus), then the shotclock is placed at 20 seconds. There is no ambiguity to that rule. In this case, it is not a violation by the defense therefore a full reset to 30 seconds is in order if Team A has the AP arrow. Last edited by dahoopref; Thu Oct 26, 2017 at 11:20am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
By the rulebook definition, the shot clock is reset to 30-seconds "When a try for goal strikes the ring or flange and then control is gained by either team" There is no "team control" nor is the ball gained while the ball is in flight in the scenario of the off-ball foul by Team B. IOW, if the ball hits the ring and then a foul on Team B occurs, then I agree with you; reset to 30 seconds. In the original question by the OP, there is no team control while the ball is in flight when a foul on Team B occurs before it hits the ring and the ball is not gained by either team. This scenario happened at a scrimmage of mine on Saturday and the whole crew had a great post-game discussion about this play; broke out the rulebook and everything. I was in the camp with you with the same line of thinking. After much discussion, the crew was able to change my thoughts on this play. Maybe you (and others on this board) can re-convince me. I really hope Art Hyland clarifies these types of situations soon. |
|
|||
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"? Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Does B (or maybe A -- I forget the play) gets control on the throw-in? The rules doesn't say "gets control before the clock stops"
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Questions | Mark Dexter | Football | 5 | Mon Sep 24, 2007 09:48am |
Questions for NCAA refs | bekays | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 13, 2006 03:00pm |
NCAA questions | Jay R | Basketball | 13 | Thu Oct 09, 2003 07:53am |
NCAA Questions | Jay R | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 07, 2003 05:24pm |
2 NCAA questions | ChuckElias | Basketball | 3 | Mon Oct 21, 2002 02:11pm |