The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member

I am studying for my first NCAA test later this fall. A little overwhelmed right now, so many differences from FIBA.

1. I know that team control exists on during a throw-in. What about when the FT shooter has yet to release his FT. Is there team control as well?

2. B1 commits a lane violation before A1's last FT is released. Subsequently, A4 commits basket interference. What happens? Would basket interference be ignored because of the lane violation?

Thanks.
Jay

Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
I am studying for my first NCAA test later this fall. A little overwhelmed right now, so many differences from FIBA.

1. I know that team control exists on during a throw-in. What about when the FT shooter has yet to release his FT. Is there team control as well?
Actually, you're incorrect. Team control does not exist during a throw-in, nor does it exist during a FT.

Quote:
2. B1 commits a lane violation before A1's last FT is released. Subsequently, A4 commits basket interference. What happens? Would basket interference be ignored because of the lane violation?
The basket doesn't count and A1 gets another FT.
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Actually, you're incorrect. Team control does not exist during a throw-in, nor does it exist during a FT.
Tony is correct; there is no team control during a throw-in. However, the confusion here comes from the fact that a foul committed by the inbounding team before the throw-in is completed is considered a Team Control Foul. The Team Control Foul in this situation is a strange sort of exception to the definition of team control.