View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 11:30am
dahoopref dahoopref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
The When B5 held A5, while the ball was in flight on a try, neither team had team control. Therefore, for a brief period of time, neither team is on offense or defense. Since the foul was not a defensive foul, the new rule does not apply. Reset the clock as normal after a change of possession. Team A ball with 30 seconds on the shot clock.
That is an interesting way of looking at it. Is that written or defined in the rulebook? I understand there is no team control during a try for goal but that ball is still live.

If that FG attempt is good, then who would get the points since "neither team is on offense or defense"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamefaceref View Post
Any word on what to do in the front court when A1 shoots a three and then B5 holds A5 in the paint. Shot goes in. Team A's ball and shot clock is reset to 30 or 20?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Once the ball hits the ring (or goes through the basket), the shot clock theoretically is no longer running. A1 shoots, B5 fouls A5, ball hits ring than bounds way up in the air before going through the basket. Once that ball hits the ring, the shot clock no longer has any status (under 20, over 20, 2 seconds, 29 seconds, etc.).
In the original question, I understood that a foul occurred on B5 on A5 during the try for goal. If a foul is called during the try before the ball strikes the rim, the game and shotclock is supposed to stop when the whistle blew, therefore the time remaining on shotclock still has relevance.
Reply With Quote