The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Wow, the original poster is correct about the old ruling. I just looked it up. It says it's a correctable error. You wipe out A1's FTs, bring in A6 to re-shoot them, and allow any B team member to attempt the technical FTs.

WOW! How did that sneak by everybody???
Was it corrected at the time as a mistake?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
From the interps sticky on this page:

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Wow, the original poster is correct about the old ruling. I just looked it up. It says it's a correctable error. You wipe out A1's FTs, bring in A6 to re-shoot them, and allow any B team member to attempt the technical FTs.

WOW! How did that sneak by everybody???
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
From the interps sticky on this page:

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)
It didn't sneak by. It was caught and corrected through the online interps that year.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It didn't sneak by. It was caught and corrected through the online interps that year.
The big question is how does such an error ever make it into print? This sort of erroneous change doesn't happen due to a typo. Someone on the rules committee that should know these things consciously made that change.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Oct 17, 2017 at 02:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
Just an example of how the casebook, and rule book can be confusing at times, and the importance of being able to discuss these plays and clear these situations up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
...and the benches clear 7in60 Softball 18 Sun Jul 17, 2011 10:27pm
Clear Sidelines BigGref Football 15 Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:50pm
Please Help Me Clear These Up BigMurr Baseball 16 Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:06pm
Clear one's mind DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 25 Sun Jan 16, 2005 07:27pm
How clear is clear? Back In The Saddle Basketball 11 Sat Jan 11, 2003 08:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1