The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
OK, so the reasoning behind this is........it’s not considered an “error” because there is no way an official would’ve known that the foul was the kids 5th. Am I thinking this through correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 02:05pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
OK, so the reasoning behind this is........it’s not considered an “error” because there is no way an official would’ve known that the foul was the kids 5th. Am I thinking this through correctly?
It does not fit the situations in 2-10. It is that simple.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
OK, so the reasoning behind this is........it’s not considered an “error” because there is no way an official would’ve known that the foul was the kids 5th. Am I thinking this through correctly?
What Rut said, plus a player isn't DQ's until we are notified. A player can technically accumulate more than 5 personal fouls and remain in the game.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
“It just doesn’t fit 2-10” is a bit vague. It says “Permitting the wrong player to attempt a free throw”. Isn’t that exactly what’ going on?
But I’m getting it........the DQ player explanation does help.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
“It just doesn’t fit 2-10” is a bit vague. It says “Permitting the wrong player to attempt a free throw”. Isn’t that exactly what’ going on?
But I’m getting it........the DQ player explanation does help.
Not quite. The wrong player would be...#42 has 2 FT's coming, however #3 shoots them. #42 is the one entitled and must shoot the FT's. So leave the DQ'd part out for now.

This is a wrong player shooting the FT's.

In the case of a DQ - ONLY the DQ'd player's substitute can shoot the FT's. However a player isn't DQ'd until notified and until notified that player is just like any of the other players on the court, subject to the same rules.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:05pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Wow, the original poster is correct about the old ruling. I just looked it up. It says it's a correctable error. You wipe out A1's FTs, bring in A6 to re-shoot them, and allow any B team member to attempt the technical FTs.

WOW! How did that sneak by everybody???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Wow, the original poster is correct about the old ruling. I just looked it up. It says it's a correctable error. You wipe out A1's FTs, bring in A6 to re-shoot them, and allow any B team member to attempt the technical FTs.

WOW! How did that sneak by everybody???
Was it corrected at the time as a mistake?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
From the interps sticky on this page:

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Not quite. The wrong player would be...#42 has 2 FT's coming, however #3 shoots them. #42 is the one entitled and must shoot the FT's. So leave the DQ'd part out for now.

This is a wrong player shooting the FT's.

In the case of a DQ - ONLY the DQ'd player's substitute can shoot the FT's. However a player isn't DQ'd until notified and until notified that player is just like any of the other players on the court, subject to the same rules.
Thanks, that explanation helped out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:04pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
“It just doesn’t fit 2-10” is a bit vague. It says “Permitting the wrong player to attempt a free throw”. Isn’t that exactly what’ going on?
But I’m getting it........the DQ player explanation does help.
No, because it was determined some time ago that this is not fit the CR rule. He/she is not the wrong player, they are still a player until they are informed that they have been disqualified. The same would happen if a player with 5 fouls is discovered to actually have 5 fouls a minute later of play. You do not take off their points, they are still a legal player until they are told they are disqualified. Rule 2-14-2 clearly says that a player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified. Well, if they are never notified, they are still a player.

It is more than one rule at play here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No, because it was determined some time ago that this is not fit the CR rule. He/she is not the wrong player, they are still a player until they are informed that they have been disqualified. The same would happen if a player with 5 fouls is discovered to actually have 5 fouls a minute later of play. You do not take off their points, they are still a legal player until they are told they are disqualified. Rule 2-14-2 clearly says that a player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified. Well, if they are never notified, they are still a player.

It is more than one rule at play here.

Peace
I see that now. Appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
...and the benches clear 7in60 Softball 18 Sun Jul 17, 2011 10:27pm
Clear Sidelines BigGref Football 15 Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:50pm
Please Help Me Clear These Up BigMurr Baseball 16 Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:06pm
Clear one's mind DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 25 Sun Jan 16, 2005 07:27pm
How clear is clear? Back In The Saddle Basketball 11 Sat Jan 11, 2003 08:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1