The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 06:44pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
I thought so!

As for the other .. chicken before the egg kinda crap .. I am going with AP not double dribble
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:24pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.
Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?
Correct. See NF 2016-17 case 9.5 sit A. Presuming it did not change for this year.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Wed Oct 11, 2017 at 09:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:33pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Correct. See case 9.5 sit A.
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 02:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks
The double dribble actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribble or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Oct 12, 2017 at 11:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The double dribbler actually occurs at the time of the release. It is just that you can't know whether it is a dribbler or a pass until it is again touched by either A1 or another player.
(Assuming this does become a double dribble) -- So is the throw-in spot where A1 initially released the ball, or where A1 subsequently touches the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't recall seeing or hearing about the part where A1 needs to be the first to touch the ball after it hits the backboard or official. Which makes my question moot.

Thanks
Also case 4.15.4 sit c
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds Ball-ball-ball shouting by defender Flimflam Basketball 14 Mon Jan 19, 2015 03:10pm
AP after Free Throw Lodges? Freddy Basketball 23 Sun Dec 28, 2008 09:40pm
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games drinkeii Basketball 90 Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am
ball lodges with defensive player Roger Greene Softball 35 Fri Jan 30, 2004 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1