The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
And A gets a fresh ten seconds! Talk about a lucky break.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?
It is definitely counterintuitive that an attempt at the wrong basket is not a try for goal, but that's the rule. Came from behind the arc? Two points. A1 ended a dribble, "shot," and the ball hit the opponent's backboard? Illegal dribble violation.

A thorough knowledge of the definitions in Rule 4 and their associated case plays are important in situations like this.

As for #2, I haven't seen it, but I always thought I'd see it before I ever saw #3. Wrong! I can envision an alley-oop throw-in from the sideline getting lodged. It'll happen someday and I'll be ready with the call. Bonus points for anyone who can find a video of this happening.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:32pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
I'll go with that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Excellent point. It says, "live ball," not "try."

I stand corrected as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'll go with that.
Well there went a great trivia question . . .
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 06:44pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
I thought so!

As for the other .. chicken before the egg kinda crap .. I am going with AP not double dribble
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I got one...

A1 is dribbling in his backcourt towards Team B's basket. A1 stops dribbling and "shoots" at B's basket, but the ball gets lodged between the rim and backboard. AP or double dribble?

I'm going to guess "double dribble"
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:24pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Not double dribble as A1 has not touched the ball after it hit the rim/backboard.
Why would A1 have to touch the ball again for a double dribble? He dribbled, stopped, and threw it off his opponent's backboard. Throwing it off your opponent's backboard is the same as pushing it to the floor. So do you not call "normal" double dribbles until the dribbler touches the ball after dribbling a second time?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
I agree.

Several years ago I had a team in its backcourt trying to break a press. A1 attempted a crosscourt pass to A2 along the end line. Of course, the nearly horizontal pass wedged in the space between the ring and backboard. I called an AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds Ball-ball-ball shouting by defender Flimflam Basketball 14 Mon Jan 19, 2015 03:10pm
AP after Free Throw Lodges? Freddy Basketball 23 Sun Dec 28, 2008 09:40pm
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games drinkeii Basketball 90 Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am
ball lodges with defensive player Roger Greene Softball 35 Fri Jan 30, 2004 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1