The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
To clarify my motives,

#1 AP

#2 Throw in Violation

#3 AP
Correct on all three
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
for #3, just to confirm what I'm almost certain on:

If you have a delayed violation on the FT and the ball lodges, it is treated just like any other miss and another FT is awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
for #3, just to confirm what I'm almost certain on:

If you have a delayed violation on the FT and the ball lodges, it is treated just like any other miss and another FT is awarded.
Correct IMO. I don't believe there's a case play on this but that might be a good suggestion as one for the NFHS to adopt.

Logically, the reason you go AP on a lodged try (FG or FT) is because both teams are afforded no opportunity to rebound the miss. In a delayed violation scenario, the ball becomes dead when the FT ends (ball lodges) and you proceed by penalizing the violation (substitute FT).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Wed Oct 11, 2017 at 10:23am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
And A gets a fresh ten seconds! Talk about a lucky break.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Wow--that is so not intuitive!

So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?
It is definitely counterintuitive that an attempt at the wrong basket is not a try for goal, but that's the rule. Came from behind the arc? Two points. A1 ended a dribble, "shot," and the ball hit the opponent's backboard? Illegal dribble violation.

A thorough knowledge of the definitions in Rule 4 and their associated case plays are important in situations like this.

As for #2, I haven't seen it, but I always thought I'd see it before I ever saw #3. Wrong! I can envision an alley-oop throw-in from the sideline getting lodged. It'll happen someday and I'll be ready with the call. Bonus points for anyone who can find a video of this happening.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:32pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give it back to A. A was still in TC and the ball became dead without a violation or foul, or end of period being involved (and whatever else is covered in the rule on this)
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
I'll go with that.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I never like disagreeing with Bob, but I'm going to here. It doesn't matter if the ball lodges as a result of a try or pass. 6-4-3d.

"Alternating possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating possession throw-in shall result when: (d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring. . . unless a free throw or throw-in follows."

Wedgie at opponent's basket results in an AP throw-in.
I agree.

Several years ago I had a team in its backcourt trying to break a press. A1 attempted a crosscourt pass to A2 along the end line. Of course, the nearly horizontal pass wedged in the space between the ring and backboard. I called an AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
How about if A1 goes in wrong direction, "shoots", and it lodges? It is neither a shot, throw-in, nor a FT.
Isn't that an AP also? Rules don't use the word shot/shoots. (6-4-3 d)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2017, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
Isn't that an AP also? Rules don't use the word shot/shoots. (6-4-3 d)
Find the rule on when the AP is used when "neither TC, not a violation, nor end of period in involved". Are all those applicable?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds Ball-ball-ball shouting by defender Flimflam Basketball 14 Mon Jan 19, 2015 03:10pm
AP after Free Throw Lodges? Freddy Basketball 23 Sun Dec 28, 2008 09:40pm
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games drinkeii Basketball 90 Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am
ball lodges with defensive player Roger Greene Softball 35 Fri Jan 30, 2004 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1