Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker
Wow--that is so not intuitive!
So has anyone--in the history of the game--seen #2 from the OP?
|
It is definitely counterintuitive that an attempt at the wrong basket is not a try for goal, but that's the rule. Came from behind the arc? Two points. A1 ended a dribble, "shot," and the ball hit the opponent's backboard? Illegal dribble violation.
A thorough knowledge of the definitions in Rule 4 and their associated case plays are important in situations like this.
As for #2, I haven't seen it, but I always thought I'd see it before I ever saw #3. Wrong! I can envision an alley-oop throw-in from the sideline getting lodged. It'll happen someday and I'll be ready with the call. Bonus points for anyone who can find a video of this happening.