The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,008
NCAAM and NFHS: Jump Ball - 10 sec count

Sorry, brain hurting and looking for quick response. Can someone direct me to a rule/case/mechanics book section that indicates who is responsible for the 10-second count when a team controls the jump ball in their BC? I have seen games where the R did it and others where the umpire, located in the controlling team's BC, did it.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 08:58pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Sorry, brain hurting and looking for quick response. Can someone direct me to a rule/case/mechanics book section that indicates who is responsible for the 10-second count when a team controls the jump ball in their BC? I have seen games where the R did it and others where the umpire, located in the controlling team's BC, did it.
Which official is responsible for the BC count? The Trail. Which official is the new Trail after the jump ball? The Referee. Does that answer your question?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Which official is responsible for the BC count? The Trail. Which official is the new Trail after the jump ball? The Referee. Does that answer your question?
Not entirely as I was looking for the actual book section that indicated that the R had the count. Regarding your answer though, most of the time, the R counting works. I have seen some officials, however, who feel differently given the location of the ball in the BC.

For example, A1, gets control and is heavily guarded deep in Team A's BC in the corner on U2's side. Does U2 officiate the players or leave up court to assume the C position? Does U2 start the 10 second count? Does U2 officiate but the R start the 10 sec count? It seems counter-intuitive for U2 to leave the involved players and the same could be said for the R and the count. I have seen differing opinions on this and I am looking for documented clarification as to the correct way to handle it.

Thoughts?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The only mention I'm aware of is with who has the backcourt count (trail), and then in another section it tells us who the R is on the opening tip. Any deviation from that would need to be pregamed and agreed by all the officials, but I'm not aware of any official mechanic that allows for it.

I see nothing wrong with the R taking the count while the C stays back to cover the matchup until R can take it over.

Alternatively, they could pregame that the U2 would simply take the count and move into R. U1 would have to recognize and adjust.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 01:55am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
NCAA-M uses the shot clock...so this is immaterial.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 06:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by apg View Post
ncaa-m uses the shot clock...so this is immaterial.
+1
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Not entirely as I was looking for the actual book section that indicated that the R had the count. Regarding your answer though, most of the time, the R counting works. I have seen some officials, however, who feel differently given the location of the ball in the BC.

For example, A1, gets control and is heavily guarded deep in Team A's BC in the corner on U2's side. Does U2 officiate the players or leave up court to assume the C position? Does U2 start the 10 second count? Does U2 officiate but the R start the 10 sec count? It seems counter-intuitive for U2 to leave the involved players and the same could be said for the R and the count. I have seen differing opinions on this and I am looking for documented clarification as to the correct way to handle it.

Thoughts?
There probably isn't any. Sometimes, you need to adjust the mechanics based on what happens with the jump. Most (90%) of the time, it's the R -- so that's what is in the mechanics. Sometimes, it's the U -- based on the location and the pressure.

But, whoever is the T has the count. The other officials need to adjust.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 09:57am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
We had a jump ball in a postseason game that went out of bounds after a few deflections on the backcourt endline. The U on that end went with the ball...and if it had been recovered in the backcourt, that U would've started the count and I would've become the C.

But that's 1 I remember in hundreds of games. Normally, the R has the count and the backcourt activity while the U becomes the C.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 10:36am
LRZ LRZ is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 766
In my 2-ref experience, it is not unusual for a jump ball tap to go deep in one direction, and the U has to go with it. If the ball is recovered by the team going the other way, the two officials have quick eye contact, the R becomes the lead and the U becomes the T, with the count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) JRutledge Basketball 21 Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm
NFHS: Does the Run Count? Spence Baseball 4 Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:49am
NFHS vs. NCAAM rules VTOfficial Basketball 3 Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:30am
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1