The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 138
Violation or no...would it be if?

Team A scores, B1 grabs ball, heads OOB on baseline. Count starts, she sets ball on floor and runs onto floor. At the same time B2 runs OOB and picks up ball and throws inbounds pass prior to the 5 second count being reached.

Coach A is barking "that's illegal, she can't do that!".

At next stoppage in play Coach A asks me for explanation...I tell him I have a legal play just as if B1 were to make the pass OOB to B2 and then B2 throws it in because it was not a spot throw in. He said ok...

I don't think I kicked this one but was curious if it were a spot throw in if that would be legal and I want to say as long as the ball is OOB the entire time and the pass is released prior to the 5 count, we are ok ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 12:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Not legal on a spot throw-in.

"No teammate may replace the thrower"

or something like that.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 12:25pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefsNCoaches View Post
Team A scores, B1 grabs ball, heads OOB on baseline. Count starts, she sets ball on floor and runs onto floor. At the same time B2 runs OOB and picks up ball and throws inbounds pass prior to the 5 second count being reached. . . .
There is this statement of expectation expressed in 7-5-7a: "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary." Lacking any other permitted activity or caseplay or interpretation to the contrary, it seems as though your situation did not fulfill this expectation in that a pass did not occur.
But I reserve the right to be wrong while I look for other pertinent info on it.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
There is this statement of expectation expressed in 7-5-7a: "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary." Lacking any other permitted activity or caseplay or interpretation to the contrary, it seems as though your situation did not fulfill this expectation in that a pass did not occur.
But I reserve the right to be wrong while I look for other pertinent info on it.
I don't have my books with me and I appreciate you supplying that. It kinda leaves it open for interpretation. I went with what I knew on an inbound after a made basket...it was just 8th grade travel league game so not a huge deal but I like to be correct!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
There is this statement of expectation expressed in 7-5-7a: "Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary." Lacking any other permitted activity or caseplay or interpretation to the contrary, it seems as though your situation did not fulfill this expectation in that a pass did not occur.
But I reserve the right to be wrong while I look for other pertinent info on it.
You are placing way to narrow a definition on "pass" in this rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
it seems as though your situation did not fulfill this expectation in that a pass did not occur.
....yet.

They have 5 seconds to meet the requirement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Under FIBA its Ok,

Under FIBA: Ball can be passed between team mates behind the line after a Field Goal.

Rule:
17.2.7. Following a successful field goal or a successful last or only free throw:
• Any player of the non-scoring team shall take the throw-in at any place behind that team’s endline. This is also applicable after an official hands or places the ball at the disposal of the player taking the throw-in after a time-out or after any interruption of the game following a successful field goal or a successful last or only free throw.
• The player taking the throw-in may move laterally and/or backwards and the ball may be passed between team-mates behind the endline, but the 5 second count starts when the ball is at the disposal of the first player out-of-bounds.

There is also matching official interpretation that covers leaving the ball on the floor.

Official Interpretations 2014: (current at time of post)
17-7 Example: After a team A successful field goal or a successful last or only free throw a timeout is granted to team B. Following the time-out B1 receives the ball from the official for a throw-in at the endline. B1
(a) places the ball on the floor after which the ball is taken by B2.
(b) hands the ball to B2, who is also standing behind the endline.
Interpretation: Legal play. The only restriction for team B to handle the ball on the throw-in is they must pass the ball into the playing court within 5 seconds.
__________________
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,444
NFHS = placing the ball on the floor for a teammate during an endline (running allowed) throw-in is legal. There is a play ruling precisely on this action.

NCAAM = a couple of years ago this level deemed the action to not qualify as a pass and therefore ruled it illegal in an AR. I do not know if that is still the case today.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2019, 05:26pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
NFHS = placing the ball on the floor for a teammate during an endline (running allowed) throw-in is legal. There is a play ruling precisely on this action.
Looking for this caseplay cited in this 2-year old thread. Anybody know where that is?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2019, 11:58am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,274
Help

Can anyone find a caseplay on this for NFHS? Even an old one would be appreciated. DeNucci? NevadaRef? Bob?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1