The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 01:24pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
With no intention of commenting on this specific play, that is true. If a defender ceases to be in a guarding position (by the definition of guarding) they must reestablish LGP before they have the rights of movement to maintain it.
Mind explaining a bit? The definition for guarding leaves a lot of room for the defender to do some goofy stuff that may look like they lost a guarding position. Bar falling over or going out of bounds I can't recall the last time I called a block because a player lost an established LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Mind explaining a bit? The definition for guarding leaves a lot of room for the defender to do some goofy stuff that may look like they lost a guarding position. Bar falling over or going out of bounds I can't recall the last time I called a block because a player lost an established LGP.
A1 gets head, shoulders, butt, and feet all by B1 (who had LGP). B1 no longer has LGP and is no longer guarding. B1, is quick, however. B1 races to get back in the path of A1 but just gets into the path (without 2 feet down or facing). B1, in this case, does not have LGP. B1 must meet all the requirements of obtaining LGP again.

If that were not true, it could argued that once a player had LGP in the first 30 seconds of the game, that player would have it the remainder of the game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 01:45pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1 gets head, shoulders, butt, and feet all by B1 (who had LGP). B1 no longer has LGP and is no longer guarding. B1, is quick, however. B1 races to get back in the path of A1 but just gets into the path (without 2 feet down or facing). B1, in this case, does not have LGP. B1 must meet all the requirements of obtaining LGP again.

If that were not true, it could argued that once a player had LGP in the first 30 seconds of the game, that player would have it the remainder of the game.
Ahh, yeah, I agree.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC Top 10 Play--Block, Charge, No Call APG Basketball 17 Mon Dec 23, 2013 03:23pm
Block/Charge Play stiffler3492 Basketball 38 Thu Dec 13, 2012 09:05am
Block/Charge RA Play: Off Rebound APG Basketball 76 Thu May 10, 2012 05:49pm
Block/Charge: RA Play APG Basketball 21 Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm
Charge and a block on the same play Coach Bill Basketball 33 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1