![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
By allowing the player from Team B to rebound the 1st FT attempt and go down and score, the officials have essentially made it so the ball became live by error.
And with that we have a correctable error. |
|
|||
|
Rule citation?
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
|
You wrote it... When the officials didn't stop play when they should have the ball was live when the free throw was missed.
That's the error that needs to be corrected. Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
|
|||
|
Quote:
3 scenarios, 2 outcomes 1) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, and B1 rebounds thinking it was only 1 and goes down and scores a basket while everyone else is just staring at this kid run like a spaz down the court to score. OUTCOME: Make a joke to make the kid feel better because he's embarrassed enough, don't score the 2 and shoot the second FT as normal. 2) The officials announce 2 shots and play as such, except ALL kids brain fart and play the rebound. B1 goes down and score. OUTCOME: If the officials didn't stop play before the score then the score counts and we go CE with 1 shot and no one on line and then resume at POE. 3) Officials announce 1&1 and things play out like described. OUTCOME: See outcome of #2. In any of the scenarios the officials screwed up.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, to more directly answer Tim's question.... The ball became live with the missed free throw. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
(I do see now that he says officials "play as such." If they are playing it as two shots they will be trying to stop play and i would agree with you. If they don't try to stop play after first FT... "allow it to continue" --they aren't playing it as two shots. The scenario is a bit off….) Last edited by BigCat; Thu Feb 18, 2016 at 12:43pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The OP is different compared to #2. There has to be missing information because "awarded 2 shots" makes me think the officials said there were to be 2 shots given. I have no clue how you go from there to all the officials forgetting there was a second shot then finally remembering after B makes a shot. I'm not counting points during a dead ball. If the officials erroneously let live ball happen that's a different story. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I do admit I cannot imagine 2 officials playing this as 2 FT's and then allowing the play to continue as described however these 3 scenarios seem to cover the possible outcomes.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
NFHS Case Book 2.10.1 Situation G
A1 has been awarded two free throws. Erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses on the first attempt. A2 rebounds the miss and tosses the ball through the basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Play continues until a foul is ruled on A2 as B is passing the ball in B’s frontcourt. RULING: The goal by A2 counts, but the error of not awarding A1 a second free throw is no longer correctable. Since the ball remained in play on the missed free throw, the clock started and the ball became dead when the goal was scored. When the ball became live on the subsequent throw-in, the time period for correction had expired. (2-10) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correct that error | wanja | Basketball | 6 | Thu Sep 16, 2010 01:03pm |
| Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct | cford | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am |
| Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
| Correct a "rules" error? | BayStateRef | Basketball | 15 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 09:52am |
| correct uncorrectable error? | lookin2improve | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 01:03pm |