![]() |
|
|
|
|||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Dad has stated that he officiates in a H.S. league in which the league assigner has instructed the officials to not follow the NFHS Rules and Casebook Plays with respect to the situation that we are discussing. I took the position that officials are ethically and professionally obligated to conduct the game per the rules. Some posters have taken me to task because I advocated doing the correct thing rather than doing what the assigner wanted. We are professionals and our code of ethics requires to apply the rules and casebook plays correctly, and to knowingly do otherwise is unethical conduct. I have nothing further to say because there is nothing else that anybody can say. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As with all things in life, there are battles you choose to fight, and battles you let the other side win. Very few wars have ever concluded with one side winning every battle. The war is getting the games called in the best manner possible. This battle may not be something worth fighting in the short term, but is something to discuss in the long term. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The NFHS sets the model rules, but the teams playing the game hire the referees and they get to set the rules. For the most part, they tell us to use the NFHS rules, but when they say otherwise (for example, OHSAA saying we are not to use the team control signal) we enforce the rules of the competition as set by the organizing association. So if a league says that want this situation dealt in this way, you are ethically obligated to either deal with it this way or turn down the assignment. What the NFHS wants really doesn't enter into it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So are you calling every travel when officiating for a disabled school? or not following... "Member associations of the NFHS independently make decisions regarding compliance with or modification of these playing rules for the student-athletes in their respective states." Or the whole being cooperative with different associations. I can respect your take on that matter, but that's for you, and by no means a moral values issues on an individual basis. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
What we do is officiate a game. I'm as serious about it as one should be in this endeavor, but I'm not curing cancer. |
|
||||
|
The key to the case play, IMO, is not the fact that B makes a basket. The point was to resolve a debate over when to call the violation, and it is to be called as soon as it's clear the new offensive team has no intention of making a correct throw in.
They added the piece about B making a basket in order to ensure we don't credit b with the score because we think it's too late to correct.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
This play wsa discussed with some fervor many many years ago on this forum.
Some said "start the 5-second count." (That was my vote, iirc.) Some said "immediate violation." Some said "reset the play." The next year (again, iirc), the NFHS came out with the interp that's in the case play -- immediate violation. So, that's how I'll call it if it ever comes up in one of my games. |
|
|||
|
Nothing wrong with starting the count. An older case book play stated that once it became obvious that the offense would not be able to complete a legal throw-in that the violation is to be called.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
The NFHS seems (to me) to have made it clear they just want us to call the violation rather than wait 5 seconds for the inevitable. Your way isn't bad, unless B is running a press. What if A2 travels or double dribbles? Everyone is going to wonder why you didn't call that only to call a throw-in violation 3-4 seconds later. I think it avoids confusion. If A1 steps towards OOB, but never makes it before throwing up court, would you just keep counting to 5? If B2 fouls A2 going up for a shot while you're at 4 in your count? Too many odd variables that get avoided if you just call the violation when it's clear they aren't going to do it right. No need to judge intent or read minds, it's pretty clear from their actions.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Tue Feb 09, 2016 at 02:10pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
...and if B steals a pass and scores during your 5-second count? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Casebook Play Confusion. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 45 | Mon Nov 12, 2012 07:51pm |
| ASA 2009 Casebook Play Confusion | SergioJ | Softball | 14 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 05:09pm |
| Difference in ruling on same casebook play? | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 24 | Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:03pm |
| NFHS 2008-09 Casebook Play 2.10.1 Situation D | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 4 | Fri Dec 05, 2008 01:17pm |
| Rule 9.1.1 Casebook play, Dribbling off foot on freethrow | jritchie | Basketball | 11 | Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:10pm |