The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Block/charge and line

NFHS legal guarding position. If a defender has a foot on the baseline (or sideline) can he have legal guarding position to take a charge, or does it automatically become a block? And in the real world, how tightly is that monitored -- do you call it as closely as a player with the ball being out of bounds? And last, is my memory correct that this changed a few years back and it used to be that a defender could set up with a foot on the line to ensure it was impossible for the dribbler to go around?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 11:33am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
NFHS legal guarding position. If a defender has a foot on the baseline (or sideline) can he have legal guarding position to take a charge, or does it automatically become a block? And in the real world, how tightly is that monitored -- do you call it as closely as a player with the ball being out of bounds? And last, is my memory correct that this changed a few years back and it used to be that a defender could set up with a foot on the line to ensure it was impossible for the dribbler to go around?
Automatic block. Case play 4.23.3 B
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Automatic block. Case play 4.23.3 B
... and the OP's memory is correct that this was changed about 10(?) years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:28pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Automatic block. Case play 4.23.3 B
It's not an automatic block. Just because a player has a foot on a line doesn't give a ball handler the a-ok to slam into them just to get a foul. This isn't how LGP work.

What the case book play does say is two things.

1) You can't initially obtain LGP with a foot on the lane. So now the no time or space rule can't apply to a defender.

2) A defender can't move to maintain LGP if it involves putting a foot OOB.

This by no means says an automatic block just because someone has a foot OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
It's not an automatic block. Just because a player has a foot on a line doesn't give a ball handler the a-ok to slam into them just to get a foul. This isn't how LGP work.

What the case book play does say is two things.

1) You can't initially obtain LGP with a foot on the lane. So now the no time or space rule can't apply to a defender.

2) A defender can't move to maintain LGP if it involves putting a foot OOB.

This by no means says an automatic block just because someone has a foot OOB.
You have the right to your place on the floor if you reach it legally. If you're foot is on the line have your reached your place legally?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:39pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
You have the right to your place on the floor if you reach it legally. If your foot is on the line have your reached your place legally?
This play is talking about LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
This play is talking about LGP.
yes, but many seem to apply this even to a stationary player, where LGP is normally not required to draw a charging foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:48pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
It's not an automatic block. Just because a player has a foot on a line doesn't give a ball handler the a-ok to slam into them just to get a foul. This isn't how LGP work.

What the case book play does say is two things.

1) You can't initially obtain LGP with a foot on the lane. So now the no time or space rule can't apply to a defender.

2) A defender can't move to maintain LGP if it involves putting a foot OOB.

This by no means says an automatic block just because someone has a foot OOB.
4.23.3 B
A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline, or (b)one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso.
RULING: In (a), a blocking foul is ruled on B1 because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), a player control foul is ruled on A1 because B2 had and obtained and maintained legal guarding position.

It is an automatic block.

Last edited by OKREF; Thu Feb 04, 2016 at 01:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
4.23.3 B
A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline, or (b)one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso.
RULING: In (a), a blocking foul is ruled on B1 because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), a player control foul is ruled on A1 because B2 had and obtained and maintained legal guarding position.

It is an automatic block. Its says obtain or maintain
In this case play, B1 is moving to maintain position. Since he is moving, LGP is required to be legal. If B1 is stationary, LGP is not required.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:53pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
4.23.3 B
A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline, or (b)one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso.
RULING: In (a), a blocking foul is ruled on B1 because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), a player control foul is ruled on A1 because B2 had and obtained and maintained legal guarding position.

It is an automatic block. Its says obtain or maintain
Try again. LGP is not required for a PC foul.

You're confusing LGP with something that doesn't exist.

This play is a block because the defender is trying to maintain LGP and steps on the line in doing so. It's not saying there is a foul automatically no matter what because a player has a foot OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:58pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Try again. LGP is not required for a PC foul.

You're confusing LGP with something that doesn't exist.

This play is a block because the defender is trying to maintain LGP and steps on the line in doing so. It's not saying there is a foul automatically no matter what because a player has a foot OOB.
Doesn't at some point the defender have to have had a LGP in the path of the offensive player?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If he's left the paying court, there's a violation to be called for that. If he hasn't left the paying court for that purpose, how can we say he's left the paying court for this purpose?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If he's left the paying court, there's a violation to be called for that. If he hasn't left the paying court for that purpose, how can we say he's left the paying court for this purpose?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
We say he's left the playing court because, by rule, he is OOB. He hasn't violated, because, as you know, not every case of a player going OOB is a violation and accidentally stepping on the end line is one of those cases where it isn't.

So again, how does he have a legal position?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 01:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
We say he's left the playing court because, by rule, he is OOB. He hasn't violated, because, as you know, not every case of a player going OOB is a violation and accidentally stepping on the end line is one of those cases where it isn't.

So again, how does he have a legal position?
The wording is the same, is it not? It's about the playing court. The violation is for leaving the playing court, so if one foot on the line is not a violation for leaving the playing court, how can we say he doesn't have a legal position because he's not on the playing court? He's either on the playing court or he's not.

I recognize he doesn't have, nor can he have LGP. I do not recognize that this is an illegal position, however, for a stationary player.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
The wording is the same, is it not? It's about the playing court. The violation is for leaving the playing court, so if one foot on the line is not a violation for leaving the playing court, how can we say he doesn't have a legal position because he's not on the playing court? He's either on the playing court or he's not.

I recognize he doesn't have, nor can he have LGP. I do not recognize that this is an illegal position, however, for a stationary player.
There are three statuses by rule: on the court, authorized off the court and unauthorized off the court. Stationary players in the first have legal position, players in the third have committed a violation. The second, though, have not committed a violation and are not described as being entitled to their position.

We say that because legal position is defined as a spot on the court reached without illegally contacting an opponent.

It would be better if there was a direct rule or case on the situation because the rules only cover the situation by exception.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block Charge TRef21 Basketball 29 Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:39pm
LSU/UT Block/Charge eyezen Basketball 7 Mon Dec 11, 2006 04:42pm
Block or Charge? tmp44 Basketball 13 Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1