![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
We say that because legal position is defined as a spot on the court reached without illegally contacting an opponent. It would be better if there was a direct rule or case on the situation because the rules only cover the situation by exception. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
![]() You're saying a player who puts his foot on the line is off the court, but authorized?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If we aren't going to call a violation for stepping on the line (without player control, obviously), we must see that as authorized leaving of the court. Authorized leaving of the court is generally interpreted as stepping out of bounds in the normal play of the game without seeking unfair advantage. I'm not sure how else you could classify him. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
If a player has stepped on the line in an attempt to go around a screen, do you consider that a violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In practice, that's a low order violation and we're looking either at a different match up or the screener's body position and aren't going to always see it unless they go well OOB. And, like 3 seconds, I try to warn a team if there's no immediate advantage. IME, it doesn't happen two often because offenses don't run their cutters that close to the end line. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
This is the crux of our disagreement, then.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
Let me ask you, though, "If a player has stepped on the line in an attempt to go around a screen, do you consider that a violation?"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
4-23-1 Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Nowhere does it say you're not entitled to a spot on the playing court because you have a foot on a line. Unless, it's talking about initially getting or maintaining LGP. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But if you don't like 4-23-1, take it from 4-37-3 which is identical in the important respect: "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court, provided the *player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent." Importantly, review 4-35-2. A player who is touching the line is OOB, not on the court. So no, it doesn't say anywhere that a player on the line isn't entitled to his spot on the court because the player, by rule, isn't on the court. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Block Charge | TRef21 | Basketball | 29 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:39pm |
| LSU/UT Block/Charge | eyezen | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 04:42pm |
| Block or Charge? | tmp44 | Basketball | 13 | Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am |
| block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
| Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |