![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline, or (b)one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), a blocking foul is ruled on B1 because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), a player control foul is ruled on A1 because B2 had and obtained and maintained legal guarding position. It is an automatic block. Last edited by OKREF; Thu Feb 04, 2016 at 01:52pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You're confusing LGP with something that doesn't exist. This play is a block because the defender is trying to maintain LGP and steps on the line in doing so. It's not saying there is a foul automatically no matter what because a player has a foot OOB. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you're talking about something else. Not sure. |
|
|||
|
I think this is over complicating a pretty straightforward expected outcome for contact with a defender that has a foot OOB. The result is a block. Any mention, LGP or otherwise, is that the contact is illegal. I will stick with that until I am explicitly told otherwise. If all the salmon are swimming one direction I don't need to be heading downstream.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are plenty of people on both sides of this. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Block Charge | TRef21 | Basketball | 29 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:39pm |
| LSU/UT Block/Charge | eyezen | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 04:42pm |
| Block or Charge? | tmp44 | Basketball | 13 | Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am |
| block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
| Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |