The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Billy how many other officials do you need to disagree with you before you accept an answer? The rule/case book doesn't cover every single possible scenario.

IF the player can legally catch the ball then what the heck do you think he/she can do afterwards with the ball?

In your case lets just say it's a shot and move on.
__________________
in OS I trust
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:48pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Clear ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
In your case lets just say it's a shot and move on.
If it's a shot, yes, he can dribble. Fine. Move on from there.

But what if it's not a shot?

What if any ball thrown by a player at his own basket is not always considered a shot?

In any case, the casebook play is not clear that the player can legally dribble the ball a second time. Maybe he can, but it certainly isn't clear.

If the caseplay is so clear, please explain to me how the player can legally dribble a second time if the throw is not a shot. If it's clear, it should be quite easy to explain. Right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 02, 2016 at 03:50pm.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If it's a shot, yes, he can dribble. Fine. Move on from there.

But what if it's not a shot?

What if any ball thrown by a player at his own basket is not always considered a shot?

In any case, the casebook play is not clear that the player can legally dribble the ball a second time. Maybe he can, but it certainly isn't clear.

If the caseplay is so clear, please explain to me how the player can legally dribble a second time if the throw is not a shot. If it's clear, it should be quite easy to explain. Right?
If he couldn't legally catch it then it would be an illegal dribble. So since he can legally catch it he can do with the ball what any player can that has just gained initial possession.
__________________
in OS I trust
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Where It Lands, I Know Not Where ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
If he couldn't legally catch it then it would be an illegal dribble. So since he can legally catch it he can do with the ball what any player can that has just gained initial possession.
A stationary player holding the ball can always toss the ball up into the air and catch it several times without violating any rule. This caseplay simply adds that he can toss the ball off his own basket in the same manner without violating. It doesn't imply anything else.

Can a stationary player, after ending his dribble, holding the ball, toss the ball up into the air and catch it several times, and then legally start a new dribble? If not, then how do we allow a second dribble in the caseplay (assuming that the throw is not a shot)?

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 02, 2016 at 04:04pm.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
What To Do Next ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
If the player can legally catch the ball then what the heck do you think he/she can do afterwards with the ball?
Pass. Shoot. Request a timeout. All legal. But until I'm convinced otherwise, he can't dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
This Is Not The Iowa Caucuses ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Billy how many other officials do you need to disagree with you before you accept an answer?
We're not conducting a poll, we're using the rules, and casebook plays, and maybe annual interpretations, to correctly interpret a situation.

All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 12:24pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.
Maybe my post was a bit confusing.

1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No? Why? Oh, why you ask. I got this.

Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard.

So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard. Well, what does a teams equipment mean? Find that out and you probably have all your answers.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 04:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Illegal Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No?
Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard..
Agree 100% with #2 above. Always have (by rule and caseplay).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard.
Absolutely not:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Maybe my post was a bit confusing.

1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No? Why? Oh, why you ask. I got this.

Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard.

So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard. Well, what does a teams equipment mean? Find that out and you probably have all your answers.

He's not going to get it not matter how hard you try. Unless the exact thing he is looking for is spelled out in the rule/case book you will only go in circles. It's best to let this go.
__________________
in OS I trust
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 04:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
How Do You Spell Relief ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Unless the exact thing he is looking for is spelled out in the rule/case book you will only go in circles. It's best to let this go.
The exact thing is spelled out in the rulebook:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Maybe a page was accidentally ripped from my rulebook? Is there a fourth article to this rule that I don't know about? An exception? A note?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Feb 03, 2016 at 04:54pm.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penn State vs. Iowa GT/BI (Video request) JRutledge Basketball 3 Thu Mar 12, 2015 09:18pm
Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge VTOfficial Basketball 0 Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm
Iowa State/Baylor - Video request x2 (Clips Added) zm1283 Basketball 22 Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:13pm
Texas vs Iowa State MD Longhorn Football 17 Thu Oct 10, 2013 09:29am
Video Request: Kansas vs. Iowa State JRutledge Basketball 22 Tue Feb 26, 2013 08:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1